Locus Map - forum

Development => Versions => Locus Classic (LM Free, LM Pro) => Topic started by: Menion on October 20, 2020, 22:17:18

Title: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on October 20, 2020, 22:17:18
Important links
- list of news (https://help.locusmap.eu/announcement/version-3-49-15-10-2020) of public versions
- blog post (https://www.locusmap.eu/news-release-3-49-0/)

Versions
15. 10. 2020 - Locus 3.49.0
10. 11. 2020 - Locus 3.49.1

Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: dim on October 22, 2020, 03:22:39
map scroll/zoom now faster and more smooth , thank you!
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Henk van der Spek on October 22, 2020, 17:14:13
Faster indeed and (to my positive surprise) Locus shuts down correctly again by back button. Also with active guiding or navigation it works correct now. (With active navigation you get the standard alert).

Info: with the 3.48 versions Locus stayed active with visible gps symbol and I had to swipe it away in the last used apps screen to really stop it. This happened on my Android 7 and on my wife's Android 10.

So, allthough this is not mentioned in the "change/fix" list, this is a good thing.

Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: LocusUser#1 on October 22, 2020, 18:54:40
map scroll/zoom now faster and more smooth , thank you!

For me unfortunately only in the LM free version or before that in the LM4 beta, in the LM pro version it is unfortunately exactly as before. What can I do so that this much better map chaching is also active in the LM pro version?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: balloni55 on October 24, 2020, 19:30:18
Hello menion
yes i use locus very often 8)
and I have already submitted my review in 2019
what does this query mean?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: freischneider on October 25, 2020, 09:47:55
For me the same, I rated it with 5 stars at the time. You can ask again for people who rate less than x. But for people with 5 this is not necessary and annoying.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Christian on October 25, 2020, 17:00:59
Configuration:
: GPS in LM Pro is always on (with an entry in cfg)
: Location service is handled in Android settings (on/off global)

If you start LM Pro and _than_ switch on Location service , LM Pro will never get an satellite signal. LM Pro has to be shut down and restarted. Means, LM Pro needs an activated GPS from the beginning. Not nice :(
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Christian on October 25, 2020, 17:05:00
(https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=7138.0;attach=7712;image)
Who translated this into german language?
...tststs
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: balloni55 on October 25, 2020, 18:03:27

Who translated this into german language?
...tststs
@Christian
that's what i asked myself when i saw the message. :o
to be honest it was me :P
It is often problematic to interpret the context of the text string in "Crowdin" correctly.
Yesterday I revised the translation, I hope to have saved an understandable text in good german now.
By the way, everybody can contribute to the translation !
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on October 26, 2020, 07:29:01
I'm surprised that some of you noticed any performance improvements when working with the map. I made some changes, but mainly in the area around the app start. Hmm  ::)

@Henk van der Spek
Same answer as with the previous sentence :). I made no changes here, just updated few Google based libraries, so it looks like "fixed as a side-effect".

@balloni55, @freischneider
Well, the app does not know (there is any method for this), if you (the user) really voted or not. I made some testing and discovered that the very hidden "rate us" button was really useless. So change is, that the app asks the user for a rating on Google Play (that already use app for some time) after successful track recording. You should be able to rate directly in a small popup in the app, does it happen?

I believe this is not a big problem if the app asks once for rating also users, who already rated :). We see a mega-positive change in the number of votes on Google Play, so thanks you are not angry because of this tiny change ;).

@Christian
I'll look at it, thanks.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: skwal on October 27, 2020, 23:04:00

android 11:
close locus by tap back button two time:
app close, after a few second i get he message:
locus dont react
wait / close

when i close the app via closebutton in he meu it works corectly
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Christian on October 27, 2020, 23:34:41

Who translated this into german language?
...tststs
@Christian
that's what i asked myself when i saw the message. :o
to be honest it was me :P
It is often problematic to interpret the context of the text string in "Crowdin" correctly.
Yesterday I revised the translation, I hope to have saved an understandable text in good german now.
By the way, everybody can contribute to the translation !
Thank you 'Balloni " the often user" 55' for explaning and Ändering ;););)
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Andrew Heard on October 28, 2020, 03:34:05
Please remind me how to view my BRouter BRF profiles in the Navigation > BRouter settings > Routing profile list?

I can confirm the BRF files have been coped
from /brouter/profiles2
to Locus/data/brouter/profiles2/
and from the spanner menu I have Advanced settings checked
but the Routing profile list only contains built-in Locus profiles.

My profiles that had used BRouter have all been set to Car-Eco.
Won't this be an issue for anyone that used BRouter profiles in 3.48?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on October 28, 2020, 08:07:34
The new directory for custom profiles should be "Locus/router/profiles". This directory should be already created by Locus Map upon start. Old Locus/data/brouter directory is no longer used.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: john_percy on October 28, 2020, 08:53:25
How is the routing data (segments) updated in the new internal system?

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Andrew Heard on October 28, 2020, 22:13:21
The new directory for custom profiles should be "Locus/router/profiles". This directory should be already created by Locus Map upon start. Old Locus/data/brouter directory is no longer used.
Thanks for reply. I can see an empty Locus/router/profiles2, but no Locus/router/profiles directory. Directory datestamp is yesterday 28/10/2020 when I upgraded to 3.49. I also assume Locus has copied BRouter BRF files into Locus/data/brouter/profiles2. Directory datestamp is 15/4/2020. This is quite confusing. Should Locus move all Locus/data/brouter/profiles2/*.BRF to Locus/router/profiles/? And if the former directory is now empty, delete that directory?

I moved one BRF from Locus/data/brouter/profiles2/ to Locus/router/profiles2/ & this is displayed in profile list. So are you sure you mean /profiles, not /profiles2?

I created a short route yesterday (GPX attached) to test another issue, but Locus 3.49 crashes very shortly after I start navigation along the route. There is one navigation command announced then crash. I've never seen a navigation crash before. Can I send more info?

PS. I have just used a long route for which navigation was working in 3.48 but now crashes in 3.49. So this bug is related to 3.49 (or my configuration), not something strange related to the route.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on October 29, 2020, 12:42:11
@john_percy
routing data for integrated BRouter now needs to be download/updated manually. As I wrote before, I'm currently with @radim work on system integrated also in Locus Map.

@Andrew Heard
Ah sure, sorry, I wrote address just from the head without verification. "Locus/router/profiles2" is the correct path. During the update, the app only copied old existing profiles from Locus/data/brouter directory to new Locus/router/profiles2, nothing more.

Crash: nothing un-usual on the GPX file.I've tried it and no problem, so please if this still happens, create a log by common method (https://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:faq:how_to_create_debug_log). Thanks!
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on October 29, 2020, 14:16:11
Configuration:
: GPS in LM Pro is always on (with an entry in cfg)
: Location service is handled in Android settings (on/off global)

If you start LM Pro and _than_ switch on Location service , LM Pro will never get an satellite signal. LM Pro has to be shut down and restarted. Means, LM Pro needs an activated GPS from the beginning. Not nice :(

Can't confirm.

In LM, I've set "always enabled GPS at start", then closed that app. In system, I've disabled "location" and started Locus Map. Blue warning about disabled GPS appears. The GPS icon is colored orange, but nothing is visible on the map. Later, I enable "location" in the system. Immediately Locus Map start loading new location. Did I miss any steps?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Andrew Heard on October 29, 2020, 23:41:59
Crash: nothing un-usual on the GPX file.I've tried it and no problem, so please if this still happens, create a log by common method (https://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:faq:how_to_create_debug_log). Thanks!
thanks for checking the GPX file; I've emailed you the report

The crash is 100% repeatable in LM Pro 3.49, it didn't happen in LM Pro 3.48. Unfortunately it happens in LM 4 3.49.0.2_967_beta too although it was a few announcements later. But it is always just after a navigation announcement.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: freischneider on October 30, 2020, 06:59:29
@ Andrew Heard
Please post LM4 topics here.  https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=6817.0
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Christian on October 30, 2020, 16:50:58
Configuration:
: GPS in LM Pro is always on (with an entry in cfg)
: Location service is handled in Android settings (on/off global)

If you start LM Pro and _than_ switch on Location service , LM Pro will never get an satellite signal. LM Pro has to be shut down and restarted. Means, LM Pro needs an activated GPS from the beginning. Not nice :(

Can't confirm.

In LM, I've set "always enabled GPS at start", then closed that app. In system, I've disabled "location" and started Locus Map. Blue warning about disabled GPS appears. The GPS icon is colored orange, but nothing is visible on the map. Later, I enable "location" in the system. Immediately Locus Map start loading new location. Did I miss any steps?
Did you switch off the display (multiple times) before you activated GPS in system and before GPS signal is available?
Sometimes i can not reproduce the behaviour but last week i happend three times in an row.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on November 02, 2020, 09:06:03
@Christian
uff. If I remember correctly, you wrote nothing about turning on/off display etc etc  ;D

Oki ... so please, exactly

Requirements:
- system GPS turned off
- Locus Map GPS settings set to "Start always"

Steps
- start Locus Map, it tries to use GPS, but it is disabled in the system, so the icon remains orange and you see a blue warning popup after a while
- turn the screen on/off multiple times
- turn GPS in the system settings
- Locus Map ignore enabled GPS and still does not load location

----

These are steps that cause the mentioned problem? No problem with my device. So please modify if you do something differently, thanks.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Henk van der Spek on November 06, 2020, 20:06:06
An old? problem seems to be back.
It's about track style and color.
Style on map for this track is set to be "Folder" but that is partly ignored when navigating reversely. We use arrows pattern 3 and they are reversed but the color of the "folder" is not applied.
It works ok when navigating in original direction (so using complete folder style).

To make it even more complicated this happens on my wife's android 10 phone but I can not simulate it on my Android 7 with the same track and settings.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Žajdlík Josef on November 08, 2020, 17:42:49
Greetings to all and I apologize for the Czech language. But the description is too complicated for my knowledge of English.

Dnes jsem narazil u Locusu na dvě věci. Jednu považuji za chybu, ta druhá by byla dobrým vylepšením Presetů. Bylo by asi dobré, kdyby minimálně ta první byla v LM4 opravena.
Když spustím navigaci bez přepočtu trasy, navigace vydává navigační příkazy i když sjedu z trasy. Je to dost blbé, když jsem třeba dost daleko od trasy a ona hlásí, abych odbočil po za 500 m doprava. Přitom já vím, že musím jet doleva abych se na trasu vrátil. Takže bych doporučil, aby se navigační příkazy vypnuly po překročení vzdálenosti na upozornění ze sjetí z trasy. Zapnuly by se pak až po návratu na trasu. Nemělo by to snad ani být moc složité. Hlavně pro začátečníky je totiž současný stav dost matoucí.
Když mám vytvořených více Presetů, ztrácí se přehled, které funkce jsou ve kterém použity. Takže třeba vytvořím Preset pro turistiku bez otáčení mapy, ale s čárou ve směru pohledu. Po čase si chci vytvořit Preset na kolo, ale už nevím, že jsem v některém předchozím nastavil neotáčení mapy. Vznikají z toho takové zmatené situace. Pokud by to tedy bylo možné, barevně bych v “Obsahu” zvýraznil funkce, které už jsou v nějakém Presetu použity. Při nastavování by hned bylo jasné na co si dát pozor. Tohle je asi složitější, ale rozhodně by to moc pomohlo s přehledností nastavení.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: 0709 on November 08, 2020, 20:50:08
Check maximum deviation from route distance.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Christian on November 12, 2020, 16:30:13
@Christian
uff. If I remember correctly, you wrote nothing about turning on/off display etc etc  ;D

Oki ... so please, exactly

Requirements:
- system GPS turned off
- Locus Map GPS settings set to "Start always"

Steps
- start Locus Map, it tries to use GPS, but it is disabled in the system, so the icon remains orange and you see a blue warning popup after a while
- turn the screen on/off multiple times
- turn GPS in the system settings
- Locus Map ignore enabled GPS and still does not load location

----

These are steps that cause the mentioned problem? No problem with my device. So please modify if you do something differently, thanks.
Sounds weird? Display on/off means GPS on/off when energy savings are active.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on November 16, 2020, 13:16:41
@Henk van der Spek
thanks for the info about the incorrect style of navigation route in the reverse direction. The issue found and fixed.

@Žajdlík Josef
1. as 0709 correctly wrote, check the mentioned settings. Also agree Willy, that is should be somehow united.

2. I also have a bigger update related to presets in my head that will hopefully help in this case as well. Next year hopefully ...

@Christian
So my steps are exactly what you do + enabled "energy saving" in your device?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Žajdlík Josef on November 16, 2020, 15:06:29
@ Menion, 0709 Thank you, that will probably be the problem. I have set 2000 m.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: slarti76 on November 17, 2020, 08:59:47
Noticed an annoying new behaviour:
When I edit a track with "Modify Track" and exit the editor, it returns me to the position when I opened the editor! Usually, I exit the editor to add or remove waypoints from a track at the position where I am just now (because, unfortunately, still can't do that in the editor).
Is there any way to turn that off?
I faintly remember this in the changes list of a new version - but what is the reasoning? I don't see the benefit...
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on November 19, 2020, 09:15:18
Quite old topic (https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/return-to-active-point-in-edit-on-map)
- 3 positive votes, 0 negative
- united behavior with the Route planner
Feel free to convince more people that old behavior was a lot better. But as usual, this will lead to different personal usage > extra settings to satisfy all  ::)
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: slarti76 on November 19, 2020, 09:32:51
Quite old topic (https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/return-to-active-point-in-edit-on-map)
- 3 positive votes, 0 negative
- united behavior with the Route planner
Feel free to convince more people that old behavior was a lot better. But as usual, this will lead to different personal usage > extra settings to satisfy all  ::)
Well, I wouldn't mind an expert or INI file setting. Alternatively, give me waypoint editing/removing/adding in track editor and I'll be happy. ;) That one definitely has more interest than the one above:
https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/track-editor-add-waypoint-directly
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: slarti76 on November 24, 2020, 11:36:21
Anybody else have the problem that track overview icons in the track lists aren't created correctly anymore. Whatever I do to refresh it, there's only ever the track, never a map. The overview in the track details is perfectly fine.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Žajdlík Josef on November 24, 2020, 12:19:49
I have the same, but only if the route leads across national borders. In this case, the background map is not displayed, only the route.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: slarti76 on November 29, 2020, 12:34:51
Noticed something weird with Map Shading, look at the screenshots:
What's wrong here? It's a shame the nice map shading gets lost when zooming further in. Obviously not a problem of missing data.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on November 30, 2020, 15:19:13
@slarti76
Route editor: https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/return-to-active-point-in-edit-on-map#comment-90666

Overview icons: there are always some problems with them ... hard to simulate as I need an exact track and the same vector maps like you have.

Map shading ... this is a result of performance optimization I made a long time ago. It reduces the number of interpolated points for shading to half at zoom level 13+. Agree it's detail is quite reduced. I may change this parameter now, but I've rather added it to my "to do" list and check it later with some performance tests.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Rods on December 14, 2020, 02:47:43
Hi

Since the last update, my new tracks can't generate thumbnails with map rendering. The old tracks with thumbnails get their thumbnails wiped if i make any update on track, like change line color, for example.

Everything was ok in early october, but after ver 3.49+ this problem started....

Tried to change the map from locus to open andro maps but the problem is still there...

Any help will be welcome

Thanks
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Rods on December 14, 2020, 02:52:41
Anybody else have the problem that track overview icons in the track lists aren't created correctly anymore. Whatever I do to refresh it, there's only ever the track, never a map. The overview in the track details is perfectly fine.

Same with me... any solution?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: slarti76 on December 14, 2020, 09:23:24
@slarti76
Route editor: https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/return-to-active-point-in-edit-on-map#comment-90666
Thx, will check out.

Quote
Overview icons: there are always some problems with them ... hard to simulate as I need an exact track and the same vector maps like you have.
As rods wrote, I also think this is not just the usual "sometimes it doesn't work", but it got worse. Didn't try replacing existing yet, don't wanna lose them ;) But for new/changed tracks, it never works anymore.

Quote
Map shading ... this is a result of performance optimization I made a long time ago. It reduces the number of interpolated points for shading to half at zoom level 13+. Agree it's detail is quite reduced. I may change this parameter now, but I've rather added it to my "to do" list and check it later with some performance tests.
Thx, will also check.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: balloni55 on January 11, 2021, 18:48:08
V 3.50 new thread ??

Title: Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
Post by: Menion on January 11, 2021, 19:44:59
Thanks balloni, you are correct!

The missing overview is interesting. I was sure I've fixed this ... thanks, I'll look at it (should be anyway solved automatically over time, maybe tomorrow :) )