Locus Map - forum

Support => Troubles & Questions => Topic started by: fencepost on May 26, 2011, 15:15:30

Title: Google MyMaps trouble
Post by: fencepost on May 26, 2011, 15:15:30
Good morning!  First of all, I would like to say I absolutely love this app!  I'm an environmental scientist by profession and this app has so many uses for me to assist with collecting data.  Thanks for the wonderful program and making it so customizable.  Very nice!  :D

I'm having a bit of trouble viewing some Google MyMaps I created and would like to know if others can view them in Locus or if it's a problem on my end.  All of the maps can be viewed correctly within a standard web browser.  I am using Locus Pro on a Motorola Droid, which is running 2.3.3 and is rooted with Cyanogenmod.  

Here's a map I have no problems viewing: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&ie ... f&t=h&z=19 (http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&ie=UTF8&msa=0&msid=203206884446316529511.0004a2df567d89c39e7ff&t=h&z=19) (nothing special, just standard Google markers).

This map I was able to view 3 days ago, but can't anymore: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&ie ... 7&t=h&z=14 (http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&ie=UTF8&msa=0&msid=203206884446316529511.0004a3f408a45810619d7&t=h&z=14)  (Imported lines from GIS into Google MyMaps....no markers for this map).

And this map I created yesterday, but haven't been able to get Locus to view it: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&ie ... 87&t=h&z=9 (http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&ie=UTF8&msa=0&msid=203206884446316529511.0004a41b1cd5c21a5e387&t=h&z=9) (I created some special icons for this map and the relay route and final point are straight from Google).

Please test these out and let me know if you can view them in Locus and provide me with some suggestions.  Also, I do quite a bit of computer graphics and will be providing some icons and such as time permits.

Thanks for your help.  Cheers!  Art
Title: Re: Google MyMaps trouble
Post by: menion on May 26, 2011, 20:12:50
finally someone who want to use MyMaps :) ... all fixed, please test next release version!
Title: Re: Google MyMaps trouble
Post by: fencepost on May 26, 2011, 20:19:54
You ARE the MAN!  Thanks so much for the quick reply and fix.  I will definitely test.  I really like MyMaps because I can place property boundaries/project limits and other features to help me know where I need to be.  Nothing like doing work on the wrong property!

Thanks again!
Title: Re: Google MyMaps trouble
Post by: fencepost on May 27, 2011, 15:06:55
The new release work perfectly!  Thanks so much.  Before we close this thread, I do have two questions:

Title: Re: Google MyMaps trouble
Post by: berkley on May 27, 2011, 15:19:30
For offline access of MyMaps you could do something like this:

- open your mymap on a desktop computer
- click on "view in google earth"
- save the *.kml
- transfer it to your phone
- import it in Locus

:D
Title: Re: Google MyMaps trouble
Post by: fencepost on May 27, 2011, 15:59:21
Good gravy, berkley....I read your answer and thought to myself, "I know how to do that....I've done it before a dozen times and here I couldn't even see the forest for the trees."   :lol:   Sometimes you just need someone to screw your head on straight for you.  Thanks for that.  :P
Title: Re: Google MyMaps trouble
Post by: menion on May 27, 2011, 16:42:28
this is not really needed berkley :) tap on map in MyMaps and press "Export" and whole map will be imported to locus database!!!

and cached - MyMaps aren't cache. When you close Locus, loaded data will be lost
Title: Re: Google MyMaps trouble
Post by: berkley on May 28, 2011, 09:42:05
Nice hint, thanks for that ;)