Locus Map - forum

Support => Troubles & Questions => Topic started by: locuscycling on October 29, 2016, 22:48:44

Title: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: locuscycling on October 29, 2016, 22:48:44
After few years of excellent( no problems)  working  finally duo Locus+Brouter  stop working for me.
(https://s18.postimg.org/hzb265g8l/Screenshot_2016_10_29_22_01_59_1.png) (https://postimg.org/image/hzb265g8l/)

Another problem - Entering Locus i get this screen
(https://s18.postimg.org/hntltdzsl/zxm87p.png) (https://postimg.org/image/hntltdzsl/)

I have to go to ,Settings'' and give Vector map folder. It works for some time, probobly till new update ,i don't know
I have all my maps ( vector + raster ) and Brouter details ( segment, profiles ..)  on Micro Sd,

Where is the problem?
Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: Andrew Heard on October 29, 2016, 23:34:50
If I saw that checksum error for RD5 file my first step would be to delete the file and download the file again. Or even rename old RD5, download new, and do binary compare to see whether there really is a checksum error.
Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: locuscycling on October 30, 2016, 09:04:29
I downloaded ,,new'' E10 N50 file and it works . thx for an Idea.

(But it also means that i have to download and replace  all my RD5 files ( ca 4gb in more then 50 files ))
Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: jusc on October 30, 2016, 12:56:01
Another problem - Entering Locus i get this screen
(https://s18.postimg.org/hntltdzsl/zxm87p.png) (https://postimg.org/image/hntltdzsl/)
...

Do you use an Android 6.0X custom rom? I have the same issue after each update of Locus. No solution until now..
Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: poutnikl on October 30, 2016, 22:26:08
I downloaded ,,new'' E10 N50 file and it works . thx for an Idea.

(But it also means that i have to download and replace  all my RD5 files ( ca 4gb in more then 50 files ))

A general advice is to update simultaneously the vector map and related RD5 files. The RD5 files are much smaller than vector maps of the same area.

Particular files are independent, you may update frequently used maps and RD5's often, while the other occasionally.
Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: locuscycling on November 03, 2016, 10:23:49
Quote from: jusc
Do you use an Android 6.0X custom rom? I have the same issue after each update of Locus. No solution until now..

I have Android 5.0.2 .

Quote from: poutnikl
A general advice is to update simultaneously the vector map and related RD5 files. The RD5 files are much smaller than vector maps of the same area.

Since ca 1 year till last ''crash'' i didn't update RD5 files  and Vector map as well.
Changes are microscopic so i don't see any reason to update.
Generally on my bike i use only rasters.

Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: poutnikl on November 03, 2016, 15:49:59
Since ca 1 year till last ''crash'' i didn't update RD5 files  and Vector map as well.
Changes are microscopic so i don't see any reason to update.
Generally on my bike i use only rasters.
Well, the changes in vector maps are much more significant than in raster maps.
In urban areas because of  human activity,
In rural areas because of OSM mapping progress.
Additionally, BRouter, its profiles, lookups.dat and segment files evolves...
Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: john_percy on November 04, 2016, 09:58:44
I downloaded ,,new'' E10 N50 file and it works . thx for an Idea.

(But it also means that i have to download and replace  all my RD5 files ( ca 4gb in more then 50 files ))

A general advice is to update simultaneously the vector map and related RD5 files. The RD5 files are much smaller than vector maps of the same area.

Particular files are independent, you may update frequently used maps and RD5's often, while the other occasionally.
Surely Brouter route finding does not depend on downloading up to date vector maps.
Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: poutnikl on November 04, 2016, 13:53:18
Surely Brouter route finding does not depend on downloading up to date vector maps.

Surely it does not. But the user may get confused by inconsistency of the rendered and routing data, in case of deviations. Such a risk obviously depends on local frequency of OSM updates and the data timestamp difference. I do not say a user should update both at every update. But at the same time a user should critically evaluate acceptable time difference.

The same is valid for online routing as well, except one does not update routing data.

Personally, I use Windows batch downloads and PC<>Android wifi sync  for both MapsForge compatible maps and BRouter data. So frequent selective updates of home area is not a big deal.

Offline ( native ) routing in e.g. OSMAnd does not have such a problem, as rendering and routing uses the same data.
Title: Re: Brouter - calculation 'java checkum error'' + Vector map error
Post by: abrensch on November 05, 2016, 20:31:13
Where is the problem?

With version 1.3, about a year ago, I introduced a new, much more compact, rd5 data file format. Wirh version 1,4.4, about 3 months ago, I dropped the support gor decoding the old format.

I guess you get a checksum error whe. trying tp read the unsupported format.

Thats my first guess. My second guess is a broken sd card
 because thats what the checksum check is for. Especially if you have "multiple effects", thats always a good time to change tthe card