Locus Map - forum

Development => Discussion/New features => Topic started by: menion on November 09, 2014, 23:45:28

Title: New track record widget
Post by: menion on November 09, 2014, 23:45:28
ah and one screenshot for first feedback (content & design). Good night


(http://s29.postimg.org/xumicn7yr/device_2014_11_09_234239.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/xumicn7yr/)
Title: Re: new record widget
Post by: gynta on November 10, 2014, 00:27:45
one screenshot for first feedback (content & design)

About the new record widget:
If i use a widget - I(!) don't need all the stuff like a dashboard clone.
So, maybe less is more...
(http://s27.postimg.org/en3vilfpb/2014_11_09_235800.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/en3vilfpb/)
Title: Re: new record widget
Post by: gynta on November 15, 2014, 14:26:35
New BETA 3.4.0.1, main changes:
- new widgets for track record. Test it, try it and help me decide what is missing and opposite, what should not be there. It's possible to create different sizes etc. of course, it's just on discussion and on test in the field.
   

First I uninstalled PRO and FREE.
After new install BETA 3.4.0.1, I can see now the new widgets on my Android Apps/widgets.

SGTab:
widget short name "Locus - track rec 31" need 2x1 space
widget short name "Locus - track rec 41" need 4x1 space
widget short name "Locus - track rec 42" need 4x1 space

(http://s8.postimg.org/gfnfxrzg1/tab_31_21.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/gfnfxrzg1/)  (http://s8.postimg.org/nwwnczoz5/Tab_41_41.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/nwwnczoz5/)  (http://s8.postimg.org/r514q1b8x/Tab_42_41.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/r514q1b8x/)
(http://s15.postimg.org/uj7yij24n/Tab.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/uj7yij24n/)

btw.
I'm unable to upausing a record...

brb...
Title: Re: new record widget
Post by: balloni55 on November 15, 2014, 14:42:19
Thanks gynta for help 8) without your advice i was not able get it
my first impression:
Quote
I'm unable to upausing a record...
- confirm, and also the blue circle arround orange button
advanced widget,
- click on "locus free" > free open :) , but if "locus free" is opened and i am on startscreen, i cant jump to opened "locus free" by click oncemore on this button.
- setting button, how can i change profil during recording?
I miss the BLUE button in size of stop and pause

First fieldtest later on my jogging tour ;)
Title: Re: new record widget
Post by: gynta on November 15, 2014, 15:11:58
New BETA 3.4.0.1, main changes:
- new widgets for track record. Test it, try it and help me decide what is missing and opposite, what should not be there. It's possible to create different sizes etc. of course, it's just on discussion and on test in the field.
   
SGS2 4.0.4
(http://s30.postimg.org/411rfzuxp/SGS2404_31_32.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/411rfzuxp/)  (http://s30.postimg.org/g1n7gq2cd/SGS2404_41_42.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/g1n7gq2cd/)  (http://s30.postimg.org/6328u8swt/SGS2404_42_42.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/6328u8swt/)

SGS2 4.1.2
(http://s14.postimg.org/5nriw0sbh/SGS2412.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/5nriw0sbh/) (http://s22.postimg.org/jrfmmewnh/SGS2412_32.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/jrfmmewnh/)
Title: Re: new record widget
Post by: balloni55 on November 15, 2014, 17:48:23
after first field test
Quote
- setting button, how can i change profil during recording?
ok, i found it: record settings/click on desired profil/set active :)
please display the active "profile icon" on widget 8)

"insert point" button only option give this point a name is needless ::)

CanĀ“t stop locus while i record a track i have started by widget
Example:
i start trackrecording by widget, after a while i want to take a short look on map where i have to go. To save accu i want to close locus but continue trackrecording, unfortunately this is not possible :-[

Edit:
a colored dot (red/orange/green) on widget for satstatus would be also helpfull
Title: Re: new record widget
Post by: gynta on November 15, 2014, 18:51:33
what do you think?
(http://s2.postimg.org/f4i5uj311/rec_widget.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/f4i5uj311/)

btw.
tapping on "Locus Free" has no effect when Locus already is running in the background.
Title: Re: new record widget
Post by: balloni55 on November 15, 2014, 19:11:42
Quote
what do you think?
if you want my opinion ;)
it looks good,
my two ideas:
 display not a gear on this button, display active profil icon on this button  hike/bike/car
as i wrote in last post.

Second:
Quote
a colored dot (red/orange/green) on widget for satstatus would be also helpfull

Quote
tapping on "Locus Free" has no effect when Locus already is running in the background
i wrote it with other words ;)
Quote
- click on "locus free" > free open :) , but if "locus free" is opened and i am on startscreen, i cant jump to opened "locus free" by click oncemore on this button.
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: menion on November 16, 2014, 07:55:57
Thanks for a feedback guys. Biggest problems seems to be a set correct sizes. Every device has it different, crazy. Also please keep in mind, that widgets aren't for you, so huge settings buttons (as well as "add waypoints"), should be quite useless for most people. It's has to be clear on first sight what is important (start/stop, maybe! pause), and what isn't (rest) - that's why it looks as it looks now.
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: szebenyib on November 16, 2014, 08:21:57
I went biking yesterday and I have learned why it is a good idea to have a separate big button for quickly adding a waypoint. I have added points along the route where I saw a point where you can take water. It was useful because next time I will know how long it takes before I can refill my bottle.

Another thing to consider in my opinion is satellite coverage. I use locus by first tapping on Sat screen and once I have sat coverage AND good accuracy I start the recording. How about pushing the green button once for searching for satellites and displaying accuracy below it? Actual recording would start on second tap. If any time stop is pressed the process would end (searching would stop - nothing to save, or recording would stop like now) this would of course require swapping the pause and stop buttons.
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: szebenyib on November 16, 2014, 08:24:01
I know recording does not start without coverage, but I do not like to start recording without an acceptable accuracy and do not want to litter my data by false points in the beginning of the recording.
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: Christian on November 16, 2014, 10:40:26
Keep it simple and stupid = KISS

Start, stop, pause and selection of profiles. May be dispay of elapsed time and distance.

Widget should have minimal size i.e. 2x2. Working on all devices.
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: gynta on November 16, 2014, 16:45:53
It's has to be clear on first sight what is important (start/stop, maybe! pause)

best is a grid with free configurable buttons and information fields - 3, 4, 6 and 8 areas:

 | x | x | x |  3 x 1

 | x | x | x |
 | x | x | x |  3 x 2
 
 | x | x | x | x |  4 x 1

 | x | x | x | x |
 | x | x | x | x |   4 x 2

now we have to know what buttons (with simple functions) and informations are usefull ?
buttons with advanced functions (additional tabs and inputs) should be avoided.

think real!
What do you REALLY need to tap - with device mounted on the handlebar?
and what should we leave inside Locus (dashboard)

- Chris need Start, stop, pause and selection of profiles. Maybe dispay of elapsed time and distance.
- szebenyib need satellite coverage and maybe information for satfix
- balloni55 need ..too much :)
- I only need START, STOP (with autosave - without save dialog!) and Add POI (with autosave - without any dialog). Just same as my simple hardware gpstracker offers.
...

So - what ever you do with non free configurable widget - it's wrong ;)
a pity  ;D
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: menion on November 16, 2014, 16:56:12
Thanks for nice sum!, so ...

So - what ever you do with non free configurable widget - it's wrong ;)
a pity  ;D

as usually during last time. Thanks all for a feedback. I'm thinking about it and it's very similar to this topic http://help.locusmap.eu/responses/how-to-customize-poi-popup-introduced-in-v340 . Without any poll with strictly defined possibilities, topic do not have for me a real value. It's too much options and too low amount of people. So I'll take your feedback as inspiration, do some minor! improvements to current solution and if there will be more votes with requests to improvements, I'll try to create some poll.
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: Christian on November 16, 2014, 17:42:09
If you want to make it more difficult you can introduce democratic tools like polls ;)
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: slarti76 on November 17, 2014, 10:31:26
I would like to add an idea (already posted this on the help desk: http://help.locusmap.eu/responses/android-shortcut-for-quick-new-point)

Shortcuts are an often overlooked feature of Android - but sooo versatile and useful. With all these wishes for customization, I think they point a way out of the complexity. I'd propose that the widget stays more or less like it is now, with the main functions and information - and other stuff that is useful to have accessible on the homescreen could be provided as shortcuts.

For example (as I wrote in the Help Desk), I would really like to be able to set quick waypoints from the homescreen. If that would be available by shortcut, I could decide myself, which types of quick points I need regularly and put them on the homescreen, probably beside the widget. Using some advanced starter widget like Elixir Widgets, I could make my own "favorite Locus functions" widget without having to rely on menion to provide the widget I'm dreaming of - he just has to make the internal intents available as shortcuts.
That's the beauty of Android: No need to invent the wheel (customizable widget) again, just provide your own functions and the user can use a widget app of his/her choice to put it together the way he/she likes  :)

What do you guys think?
Title: Re: New track record widget
Post by: menion on November 17, 2014, 10:42:36
If you want to make it more difficult you can introduce democratic tools like polls ;)

More difficult for who? Definitely not for me ...