Locus Map - forum

Support => Troubles & Questions => Topic started by: Gorkde on October 23, 2014, 15:05:46

Title: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on October 23, 2014, 15:05:46
Tried to add an app (Brouter for bike offline navigation).

When I click the Add App button an window opens "Add App" (or similar) and it looks like he tries to gather the installed apps.

But even waiting 10 Minutes doesn't get me another result, nothing happens.

Other Apps also need some time since I got about 650 Apps on my phone, but they normally need not more than about 10 Seconds.

Probably a bug caused by many Apps.

Could you please fix it?

Using latest Locus and 4.4.2 on Galaxy S4
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Menion on October 23, 2014, 16:38:58
Hi,

generally ... this is probably not a bug, just an not-optimized feature. I found a way to make it faster. On my device 4x. So you'll see in next version, hope it will be better.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on October 23, 2014, 17:00:03
But I did wait 10 Minutes and no apps were shown.

That can't be a thing where I just need to wait for longer.

Any idea how I might add it maybe manually if Locus add doesn't work for me?
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Menion on October 23, 2014, 17:08:33
No manual method exists. You have to wait on a next version, sorry.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on October 23, 2014, 17:13:36
I suppose this must be in some config file? Isn't that a text file which I should be able to edit?

Btw. by looking again over it it looked to me as if he tried to gather the apps and then after 1 second stopped and showed an empty list.
Maybe the list can't display that much apps since there is a item limit or memory problem in Locus?
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Menion on October 23, 2014, 17:25:36
No manual method exists. You have to wait on a next version, sorry.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 08, 2014, 00:49:10
Hi Menion,

just saw a new version was released but still the same problem.

No Apps are displayed to select.

Must be a problem when having more than a hand full of Apps.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: jusc on November 08, 2014, 08:48:19
 In my case it looks other. One App is multiple shown.
(http://s7.postimg.org/rghkuxol3/Apps.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/rghkuxol3/)
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 08, 2014, 09:27:07
That looks for me as if that should be normal, since those are all different parts of the App that can be opened.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: gynta on November 08, 2014, 10:49:06
In my case it looks other. One App is multiple shown.
That looks for me as if that should be normal, since those are all different parts of the App that can be opened.
I agree with you...



No Apps are displayed to select. Must be a problem when having more than a hand full of Apps.
here, the app list pops up after 5 seconds but after i repeat this several times no (empty) list appears. see clip,,,
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 08, 2014, 10:53:29
I did wait for 10 minutes nothing is shown
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: gynta on November 08, 2014, 11:05:39
I did wait for 10 minutes nothing is shown
Yes i know - as you already wrote  (http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=4245.msg32909#msg32909)

Is there a "Loading...." screen for 10 minutes?
or a empty list  - like in clip above?
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: jusc on November 08, 2014, 11:23:11
In my case it looks other. One App is multiple shown.
That looks for me as if that should be normal, since those are all different parts of the App that can be opened.
I agree with you...


But how can I find the app I want to add? Try all?  :o
I guess, that´s not what users want to see, because they want to add simply the whole app.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: gynta on November 08, 2014, 11:29:35
Quote
But how can I find the app I want to add? Try all?  :o
choose what you need:

(http://s4.postimg.org/a8af8in4p/Apps.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/a8af8in4p/)
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 08, 2014, 11:55:12
I did wait for 10 minutes nothing is shown
Yes i know - as you already wrote  (http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=4245.msg32909#msg32909)

Is there a "Loading...." screen for 10 minutes?
or a empty list  - like in clip above?
I get no loading, I get an empty list instantly

Yes, same as in the video but always, not only after trying some times.

Because of this I am not able to use my routing app since it  only works if integrated in Locus.
But since I can't add it I'm not able to use it.

This means it's pretty important to me :(
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: gynta on November 08, 2014, 12:01:22
Quote
I get no loading, I get an empty list instantly
that's the point... thx
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Menion on November 08, 2014, 12:47:28
Quite weird

1) you may try to create a log right after you try to add item to right panel, maybe it will contain something. How to: http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:faq:how_to_create_debug_log

2) you wrote "YOUR own service"? In this case, you may integrate Locus API (if you don't already have) and place you app directly into list of apps of Locus as native service

And last think .. I'm testing it on Nexus 7, where I watch almost all major nav/travel apps, so trust me, list of apps is really looooooong and it still work (10 seconds to load).

@Jusc: on one side, I understand you. On second side, Locus gives users more possibilities (as usually) to choose which part of app you want to start. So Locus offer all publicly available screens of all apps.

Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: jusc on November 08, 2014, 12:59:08
Quote
But how can I find the app I want to add? Try all?  :o
choose what you need:

(http://s4.postimg.org/a8af8in4p/Apps.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/a8af8in4p/)

In my eyes it´s pure nonsense to add every inside part of an app to the right bar, because ther is no sufficient place to add one by one.  You get only one Icon on your home screen, why should you search for every part?
Example after tapping on main app youll get for example this:

(http://s11.postimg.org/5z5ptrqv3/Apps2.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/5z5ptrqv3/)

@menion
Now if I want to add an app I have to sroll down hundreds of possibilities and to search for the right one.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Menion on November 08, 2014, 13:01:44
Now if I want to add an app I have to sroll down hundreds of possibilities and to search for the right one.

Yes, that's how it works last ... hmm around 3 years.

In you case, it's special. Usually apps has one, two, sometimes three activities. In this case, I think it's badly coded that it offer all screens that exists in app ... but I got your point of course
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 08, 2014, 14:19:33
Quote
But how can I find the app I want to add? Try all?  :o
choose what you need:

(http://s4.postimg.org/a8af8in4p/Apps.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/a8af8in4p/)

In my eyes it´s pure nonsense to add every inside part of an app to the right bar, because ther is no sufficient place to add one by one.  You get only one Icon on your home screen, why should you search for every part?
Example after tapping on main app youll get for example this:

(http://s11.postimg.org/5z5ptrqv3/Apps2.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/5z5ptrqv3/)

@menion
Now if I want to add an app I have to sroll down hundreds of possibilities and to search for the right one.
Vut that what other want once an App offers you to start it at specific screens!

You have to scroll once to add so this can not be such a huge problem.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 08, 2014, 14:22:56
Quite weird

1) you may try to create a log right after you try to add item to right panel, maybe it will contain something. How to: http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:faq:how_to_create_debug_log

2) you wrote "YOUR own service"? In this case, you may integrate Locus API (if you don't already have) and place you app directly into list of apps of Locus as native service

And last think .. I'm testing it on Nexus 7, where I watch almost all major nav/travel apps, so trust me, list of apps is really looooooong and it still work (10 seconds to load).

@Jusc: on one side, I understand you. On second side, Locus gives users more possibilities (as usually) to choose which part of app you want to start. So Locus offer all publicly available screens of all apps.
Ok just did check 2 things

1) it shows loading a split second but then disappears instantly and does show an empty select list. No way it can gather the apps in that time.
So probably its a kind of memory overlow or access problem or similar.

2) I'm using a custom rom (Phoenix 9.4) which is using a memory swapping script from XDA which causes no problems in other apps but to make sure I did disable the script and found it isn't the cause of the problem.

So this must really be a locus problem in any way.

And no I didn't write my own api (don't know if you meant me).
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: gynta on November 08, 2014, 15:09:42
1) you may try to create a log right after you try to add item to right panel, maybe it will contain something. How to: http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:faq:how_to_create_debug_log
Ok just did check 2 things
may you please check the first point...
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 08, 2014, 15:57:56
1) you may try to create a log right after you try to add item to right panel, maybe it will contain something. How to: http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:faq:how_to_create_debug_log
Ok just did check 2 things
may you please check the first point...
Just sent to support.locus@asamm.com
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: jusc on November 08, 2014, 20:31:31


Quote from: Gorkde

Vut that what other want once an App offers you to start it at specific screens!

You have to scroll once to add so this can not be such a huge problem.

But  large number of offered apps seems to be the problem, that sometimes the app list is empty, for people which have installed a lot of apps on their phone. ;)
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: gynta on November 08, 2014, 21:15:07
Quote from: Gorkde
Vut that what other want once an App offers you to start it at specific screens!
You have to scroll once to add so this can not be such a huge problem.
But  large number of offered apps seems to be the problem, that sometimes the app list is empty, for people which have installed a lot of apps on their phone. ;)
' don't think so. I have tested also with small amount of apps - same problem.

@Menion
see dropbox (logfile and new clip)
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Menion on November 13, 2014, 14:13:47
Uff this one was quite complicated.

@Gorkde, thank you for your email, it helps. I found an issue in one function used for obtain list of applications. And it really crash on amount of apps. Unfortunately my cca 200 installed apps isn't enough and I don't want to spend afternoon by install of additional 400 apps so you'll have to check new version, if it works.

Together with this, I've improved list of apps, so now Locus offer only same apps as you see in your home launcher. You may anyway switch to full list by top button. And expect, that on this full list, app crash again and return 0 apps. Anyway basic list should work fine for now.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 13, 2014, 14:17:34
No problem, send me a link to the download please, thanks for your effort!
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Menion on November 13, 2014, 14:36:06
it will be in Beta version during next days ... as usually
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 18, 2014, 22:02:10
It's working in the latest beta.

Took me some time to figure out how to get it, since there is no registration link in the group as it should
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Menion on November 18, 2014, 22:09:56
good to hear it. And registration - there should be visible step-by-step manual on a right side of Google+ page. But agree it's not perfect.
Title: Re: Add app to right bar doesn't work
Post by: Gorkde on November 18, 2014, 23:03:23
There is a step by step description which probably includes a link but I did open it on my mobile and there was no link. I just could register since I found it also in the forum.