Locus Map - forum

Development => Discussion/New features => Navigation & Guidance => Topic started by: menion on October 06, 2013, 09:01:55

Title: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: menion on October 06, 2013, 09:01:55
gynta wrote
"...new thread because there are essential modifications between BRouter and Locus..."


Quote from: Menion
so what about this guys? http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=3423.msg24024#msg24024 ;)
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: tommi on October 06, 2013, 09:56:16
so what about this guys? http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=3423.msg24024#msg24024 ;)
- T: cannot connect to service
- How to match routing profiles to various car/bicycle/foot options?
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: locuscycling on October 06, 2013, 11:12:37
so what about this guys? http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=3423.msg24024#msg24024 ;)
I think it is excellent Idea but is it working ??
I tried with new Beta but see screeen like this:

(http://s10.postimg.org/y7kqfsfg5/1x30.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/y7kqfsfg5/) (http://s10.postimg.org/n6plarn79/94v.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/n6plarn79/)

(Doesn't matter Wifi / Internet Transfer ON or OFF)

In seetings i have changed from CloudeMaps to Brouter
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: tommi on October 06, 2013, 11:20:00
so what about this guys? http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=3423.msg24024#msg24024 ;)


I think it is excellent Idea but is it working ??

I tried with new Beta but see screeen like this http://img31.imageshack.us/img31/1857/94v.png (http://img31.imageshack.us/img31/1857/94v.png) and next http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/4400/1x30.png (http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/4400/1x30.png)

(Doesn't matter Wifi / Internet Transfer ON or OFF)

In seetings i have changed from CloudeMaps to Brouter
Basically same problem for me, though I get a different error message :-\
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: menion on October 06, 2013, 11:28:55
yes i had also some problems with it and I hoped you tell me how to set this BRouter. Anyway I started BRouter from list of apps and choose 'server mode', choosed something and then 'bike' mode started to work :-)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: tommi on October 06, 2013, 12:25:49
yes i had also some problems with it and I hoped you tell me how to set this BRouter. Anyway I started BRouter from list of apps and choose 'server mode', choosed something and then 'bike' mode started to work :-)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Start from list of apps? What does this mean?
When I start brouter it immediately asks for the profile.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: locuscycling on October 06, 2013, 12:59:58
Thanks a lot ''menion'' i understood , now  it works very well !!!
 I think it is what we all are waiting for .

Tommi all you need to do is

1.Open Brouter ( like Locus, IGO , or another app)
2.Select for ex. fastbike
3. Deleted all via ( maybe unnesessary)
4. Then in few moments you will see this screen:
(http://s17.postimg.org/cpjitwnu3/ub5j.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/cpjitwnu3/)

5.Just select as menion wrote ,,Server-Mode''. This is ''the point''
6.You can open Locus and created a route.
( Of course you dont need WIFI or Internet Transfer, this is completelly OFFLINE)
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: KaHeMu on October 06, 2013, 13:17:22
Wow, what a great tool !
Last months I didn't follow the development with Brouter and Locus because it seemed to be a little bit strange.
But now with integration in Locus it could replace my Garmin!
Yesterday I planned a hike trip in the forest with a length of 17 kms with Locus and Mapquest routing. Now the same task with Brouter follow 90% the same ways and the remaining way is better than routed with Mapquest.

Many, many thanks to menion and team and all those they helped with discussion!

KaHeMu
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: menion on October 06, 2013, 13:23:03
don't thank me :) for me it was yesterday work on around 3 hours. If it works, all thanks belong to developer of BRouter ;)
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: tommi on October 06, 2013, 15:21:08
Thanks a lot ''menion'' i understood , now  it works very well !!!
 I think it is what we all are waiting for .

Tommi all you need to do is

1.Open Brouter ( like Locus, IGO , or another app)
2.Select for ex. fastbike
3. Deleted all via ( maybe unnesessary)
4. Then in few moments you will see this screen:
(http://s17.postimg.org/cpjitwnu3/ub5j.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/cpjitwnu3/)

5.Just select as menion wrote ,,Server-Mode''. This is ''the point''
6.You can open Locus and created a route.
( Of course you dont need WIFI or Internet Transfer, this is completelly OFFLINE)
Thank you. Didn't see this because I used an older version of brouter.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: tommi on October 06, 2013, 15:24:43
Menion, great, short good job!
Still the question open:
- How to match routing profiles to various car/bicycle/foot options?
Thanks,
Thomas
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: jusc on October 06, 2013, 15:33:36
Thanks a lot ''menion'' i understood , now  it works very well !!!
 I think it is what we all are waiting for .

Tommi all you need to do is

1.Open Brouter ( like Locus, IGO , or another app)
2.Select for ex. fastbike
3. Deleted all via ( maybe unnesessary)
4. Then in few moments you will see this screen:
(http://s17.postimg.org/cpjitwnu3/ub5j.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/cpjitwnu3/)

5.Just select as menion wrote ,,Server-Mode''. This is ''the point''
6.You can open Locus and created a route.
( Of course you dont need WIFI or Internet Transfer, this is completelly OFFLINE)

@menion, thank you for this new feature
@Locuscycling, and thank you for this hint :-)


One question @menion,
BRouter seems not to be able to calculate motorcar_fast or motorcar_short,
In Locus it says always "no BRouter service config could be found for mode motorcar_fast or motorcar_short. But I configured it with BRouter before in "Server Mode".


Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: menion on October 06, 2013, 16:07:12
I have no idea Jusc, guys :)

there are two possibilities
1. you figure it out by yourself
2. your should check BRouter homepage if there is not any clue
3. we should wait till Arndt return from it's holiday to give us answer

because in API I use, is no possibility to define routeing profiles by myself
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: tommi on October 06, 2013, 16:37:06
I have no idea Jusc, guys :)

there are two possibilities
1. you figure it out by yourself
2. your should check BRouter homepage if there is not any clue
3. we should wait till Arndt return from it's holiday to give us answer

because in API I use, is no possibility to define routeing profiles by myself
Does this mean that the selection in locus GUI isn't used for parameterizing brouter?

Well there seems to be description in readme_service.text but I do not fully understand it:

The configuration concept in the service interface
--------------------------------------------------

BRouter is fully configurable via the use of profile
definition files and a list of nogo-areas, while
the service interface is usually accessed by just
choosing one o the 6 "standard routing modes" made
of a combination of the car/bike/foot and the
shortest/fastest selection.

Therefore, you need a mapping between the standard routing mode
and BRouter's configuration. There is no default mapping
deployed with the BRouter distribution file, so you have
to configure this yourself. You can do that by starting
BRouter is the "normal" way and at the end of the routing
process, press the "Server Mode" button. Then you get
a list of standard routing mode with a preselection,
where you can choose for which of the 6 standard modes
you want to store the configuration just used.
(profile + nogo-list). Please note that the profile
is stored by reference (so modifications at the profile
file afterwards will have effect), while the nogo-areas
are stored by value (so modifying the nogo-waypoints
afterwards will have no effect)
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: menion on October 06, 2013, 16:57:23
you found same text as I found

selection in Locus IS used.

"while the service interface is usually accessed by just choosing one o the 6 "standard routing modes" made of a combination of the car/bike/foot and the shortest/fastest selection."

Locus use these parameters, so just "car/fastest", "car/shortest", etc ... but which profile BRouter map to these Locus requests is mystery for me and it's probably described in article you mentioned, but I'm not much clever from it ...
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: tommi on October 06, 2013, 17:32:40
"while the service interface is usually accessed by just choosing one o the 6 "standard routing modes" made of a combination of the car/bike/foot and the shortest/fastest selection."

Locus use these parameters, so just "car/fastest", "car/shortest", etc ... but which profile BRouter map to these Locus requests is mystery for me and it's probably described in article you mentioned, but I'm not much clever from it ...
Call brouter standalone and it will first prompt you to select a routing profile (e.g. choose fastbike), in the next step select Server-Mode and finally accept bicycle_short and bicycle_fast.
This should map bicycle_short and bicycle_fast (modes in Locus) to the profile fastbike (profile of brouter).
But somehow this doesn't seem to be fully functional - or I don't fully understand it :)

Do you know when Arndt will be back?

edit:
Seems that bicycle fast, bicycle short and foot work but car modes don't work.
Where does the text "moto_car" come from? Yes, I mean exactly the bad spelling which should obviously be "motor_car"!
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: michaelbechtold on October 06, 2013, 23:03:43
All three modes documented above do work for me - however, bicycles and walkers are all sent to use HIGHWAYS ...
As Menion confirms he relays the selected mode to brouter via API, this should be a brouter problem then. I will try to report it to brouter support.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: abrensch on October 07, 2013, 10:17:09
Seems that bicycle fast, bicycle short and foot work but car modes don't work.
Where does the text "moto_car" come from? Yes, I mean exactly the bad spelling which should obviously be "motor_car"!

Hi,

yes, you're right, there's a spelling-bug, it should be "motorcar", not "motocar". This is sent by locus.

The bike and foot-modes work fine for me as well, thanx Menion for putting that in.

However, there seems to be some confusion on the mechanism I'm using to handle the configuration. I could have made the quick-start easier by deploying a standard-mapping, but I decided not to do that because this flexibility in configuration is a main feature of brouter so it's important to realize that there is a mapping and that there is more configuration on the brouter side.

An important thing to notice is that also a list of nogo-points is part of that configuration. So if, before pressing the "server-mode" button, you confirmed one or more nogo-points, they will become part of the routing-modes you select in the next screen.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: menion on October 07, 2013, 10:57:47
ah "motocar" fixed, thanks
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: gynta on October 07, 2013, 11:03:18
An important thing to notice is that also a list of nogo-points is part of that configuration. So if, before pressing the "server-mode" button, you confirmed one or more nogo-points, they will become part of the routing-modes you select in the next screen.
good point...
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: michaelbechtold on October 07, 2013, 12:21:30
Not sure if somebody reported already that 60000 ms (1s) are a too short timeout for brouter.
Just tried with a route from Frankfurt to Praha -> Locus timeout ...

Maybe you could make it a something like: timeout = (geo distance) * (configurable factor)

All this is brand new, and nobody knows yet, so this would allow to gain experience.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: menion on October 07, 2013, 12:55:07
it!s on BRouter side, in locus is no timeout
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: abrensch on October 07, 2013, 13:32:32
Not sure if somebody reported already that 60000 ms (1s) are a too short timeout for brouter.
Just tried with a route from Frankfurt to Praha -> Locus timeout ...

Maybe you could make it a something like: timeout = (geo distance) * (configurable factor)

The timeout is important to protect the device. 60 seconds is the default, but there's a parameter in the aidl-interface, so it can be changed from outside.

However, the long-distance solution I am working on is "fast-partial-recalculation": the idea is that if a route to the same destination-point and for the same routing-profile is already known, a partial recalculation is done and the result is a combination of the old and the new calculation. This way you can do a long-distance calculation by starting the brouter-app, but then have fast recalulations if you follow the route and get off the track.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: jusc on October 12, 2013, 11:00:44
Because of this answer http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=3423.msg24312#msg24312 I want to ask the developer of BRouter, if he would place this neccessary app to ggogle play?  8)
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: michaelbechtold on October 12, 2013, 12:24:32
Well, one more question then: does brouter have a notion of highways ? So this partitioning would be INSIDE your app, not manual ! I.e. first search highway connections only near to start and end points, then get from those points to/from the valid entries to the highway system. Do not mind about "optimal" connections - this is an NP-complete problem beyond reach on smartphones ... ? By above searchtimes will really collapse automatically. For motorcar search.

And for bicycle and foot path search, such single long distance searches do not make sense anyway (and you do not need to optimize for irrelevant use cases). For motorcar, the relevance is obvious. though.
TXs
Michael

Not sure if somebody reported already that 60000 ms (1s) are a too short timeout for brouter.
Just tried with a route from Frankfurt to Praha -> Locus timeout ...

Maybe you could make it a something like: timeout = (geo distance) * (configurable factor)

The timeout is important to protect the device. 60 seconds is the default, but there's a parameter in the aidl-interface, so it can be changed from outside.

However, the long-distance solution I am working on is "fast-partial-recalculation": the idea is that if a route to the same destination-point and for the same routing-profile is already known, a partial recalculation is done and the result is a combination of the old and the new calculation. This way you can do a long-distance calculation by starting the brouter-app, but then have fast recalulations if you follow the route and get off the track.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: KaHeMu on October 12, 2013, 13:39:44
...

And for bicycle and foot path search, such single long distance searches do not make sense anyway (and you do not need to optimize for irrelevant use cases). For motorcar, the relevance is obvious. though.
TXs
Michael



This applies only for that people they aren't moving without a car. For car navigation there are special apps or devices to do very good job.
But there are many people outside which are moving by foot or by bike, often for long distances (>200 kms).

Just my 2 pence,
KaHeMu
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: michaelbechtold on October 12, 2013, 15:43:07
I go by all three ;-)
My failed situation was > 500 km, and in all fairness, neither walking nor bicycle will allow 500 km IN ONE GO.
Even 200 km is pretty extreme for both, again, without a "via" target. You would typically target some place in between, right ? Drink, food ?
While for car, going to a place 100s of km away where you need directions is not unusual.
There are workarounds, yes. But why not have a proper solution rather than a workaround.
And why using yet another app in addition when it can be in one solution (Locus+brouter) ?
Cheers
Michael


...

And for bicycle and foot path search, such single long distance searches do not make sense anyway (and you do not need to optimize for irrelevant use cases). For motorcar, the relevance is obvious. though.
TXs
Michael



This applies only for that people they aren't moving without a car. For car navigation there are special apps or devices to do very good job.
But there are many people outside which are moving by foot or by bike, often for long distances (>200 kms).

Just my 2 pence,
KaHeMu
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: KaHeMu on October 12, 2013, 17:01:16
Normally you're right. But next year I'll do a very long hike (about 2000 kms) and first I have to do is looking for a good and interesting way with some fix points for sightseeing or another things. The breaks or accommodation places I'll see from day to day.
Looking for the generally trek is a job where brouter and locus could help.

Kind regards,
KaHeMu
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: michaelbechtold on October 12, 2013, 21:40:08
WOOOWWWW !
You set the bar high for brenche ;-) !!

Normally you're right. But next year I'll do a very long hike (about 2000 kms) and first I have to do is looking for a good and interesting way with some fix points for sightseeing or another things. The breaks or accommodation places I'll see from day to day.
Looking for the generally trek is a job where brouter and locus could help.

Kind regards,
KaHeMu
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: abrensch on October 20, 2013, 19:26:48
However, the long-distance solution I am working on is "fast-partial-recalculation": the idea is that if a route to the same destination-point and for the same routing-profile is already known, a partial recalculation is done and the result is a combination of the old and the new calculation. This way you can do a long-distance calculation by starting the brouter-app, but then have fast recalculations if you follow the route and get off the track.

Today I deployed version 0.95 of BRouter ( see http://brensche.de/brouter/revisions.html ) which contains basically this mechanism.

I also did some "hard-work" to improve the basic performance, but this is less than a factor of 2. And I supplied "car-subset" datafiles that allows somewhat longer distances for car-routing.

But the major improvement is this recalculation stuff. I do not anymore call it "fast-partial-recalculation", now I call it "timeout-free recalculations": if you already have calculated a valid track for the same destination and the same routing mode (via the brouter-app or the service-interface), then the next calculation via the service interface for that destination will almost never give a timeout, but, if it does not succeed to finish the full calculation, give you a merged track from the old valid track and the new, partial calculation.

There's no change in the user interface. Just be aware that, when pressing the "Server-Mode" button after you calculated a track using the brouter-app, you do not only store the profile and the nogo-list for use by the service-interface, but also the track itself to be re-used by the service-interface.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: michaelbechtold on October 26, 2013, 12:45:56
It seems you broke the Locus integration. When starting the App, it requests from Orux stuff. Even after I gave the base directory with all brouter files in it (profile etc.)
Not good !
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: KaHeMu on October 26, 2013, 12:56:26
It seems you broke the Locus integration. When starting the App, it requests from Orux stuff. Even after I gave the base directory with all brouter files in it (profile etc.)
Not good !

Hi Michael,
here with Locus 2.16.0.11 and Brouter 0.95 the integration is o.k.
Both directories are at the same level at Tablet Samsung Galaxy Tab2 (P5110) and Android 4.0.3
Greetings
Karl-Heinz

Sent using TapaTalk 4
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: jusc on October 30, 2013, 16:05:40
You will find a version 0.9.6 here: http://brensche.de/brouter/revisions.html
Be carefull, after calculating a new route  it shows version = BRouter-0.95.
Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: big on November 04, 2013, 22:41:22
Hi

I am very impressed by the local routing ! Thanks!
But is there a way to navigate along such a track like it is done by the "normal" routing? Including driving instructions?

Thanks!

Cheers!

Gesendet von meinem GT-N7100 mit Tapatalk

Title: Re: BRouter Version 0.9.4 +
Post by: menion on November 05, 2013, 07:07:08
partially yes ... check this topic http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=3372.0

anyway there is currently not available any testing version, probably today later will be