Locus Map - forum

Support => Troubles & Questions => Solved => Topic started by: kelddaug on August 08, 2013, 12:57:17

Title: Gps speed
Post by: kelddaug on August 08, 2013, 12:57:17
Hey Menion
I think there is a bug in speed view on gps.
My settings is set to knots and height to feet and distance to nautical.

If I set it to show gps, it shows speed as nautical/h in stead of knots.
Can you look at that.?
I have the latest version.
/Keld


 
Sendt fra min GT-N7105
Title: Re: Gps speed
Post by: menion on August 08, 2013, 13:15:34
Hi,
 and may you explain what mean "knots". Because I thought it's speed in nautical miles per hour

 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knot_%28unit%29 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knot_%28unit%29)
Title: Re: Sv: Gps speed
Post by: kelddaug on August 08, 2013, 15:01:41
Quote from: "menion"
Hi,
 and may you explain what mean "knots". Because I thought it's speed in nautical miles per hour

 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knot_%28unit%29 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knot_%28unit%29)

It just shows/writes  Nautical/hour..in gps view.. where some Locus versions back showed knots.
It is not at problem..but I think you use knots for nautical/h on ships and aircraft.

Hope you understand. It's difficult to explain.
I know that Nautical/h is correct, but we use knots in the helo and on our ship..it is the same.

As you can see in your link ,knots is used in maritime and aircraft environments.

Sendt fra min GT-N7105
Title: Re: Gps speed
Post by: menion on August 08, 2013, 15:12:15
I'm almost sure, there always were nautical miles per hour

anyway so point is, you don't want to see "1.65 nmi/h", but rather "1.65 kn". That's the whole point, right?
Title: Re: Gps speed
Post by: kelddaug on August 08, 2013, 15:24:36
Quote from: "menion"
I'm almost sure, there always were nautical miles per hour

anyway so point is, you don't want to see "1.65 nmi/h", but rather "1.65 kn". That's the whole point, right?


Yes, if it is possible... :-)

I have a question more, can Locus read .it files.?
It is Falcon view files...

Have tried.. it doesn't.
Title: Re: Gps speed
Post by: menion on August 08, 2013, 16:28:04
I've rather added another unit into list, so now there is for choose

Code: [Select]
km/h, mil/h, nmi/h, kn
It's the same (nmi/h and kn), I know but someone want to use this, someone other ... probably best solution

and Falcon view files aren't supported
Title: Re: Sv: Gps speed
Post by: kelddaug on August 08, 2013, 16:38:41
Quote from: "menion"
I've rather added another unit into list, so now there is for choose

Code: [Select]
km/h, mil/h, nmi/h, kn
It's the same (nmi/h and kn), I know but someone want to use this, someone other ... probably best solution

and Falcon view files aren't supported

Oki, thats nice.. I'll see if there is a converter for Falcon view files,when I get back to faster Internet connection.

Sendt fra min GT-N7105