Locus Map - forum

Support => Troubles & Questions => Topic started by: nIgel on July 07, 2012, 06:15:47

Title: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on July 07, 2012, 06:15:47
First:
I'm using Locus strictly offline.

Yesterday I tried to navigate to some coordinates and was astonished, that this proved to be quite difficult.

First approach:
Via Menü - Navigate
(no beeline option, only usable online)

Second approach
1) create a new waypoint with the coordinates I want to go.
2) Select this waypoint and navigate there with Guide On

Is there a simpler way to just enter the coordinates and have Locus guide me to it via beeline?
Title: AW: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: druki on July 07, 2012, 10:40:03
Hello and welcome!
Yes, it's allready there and this id the simplest way I lnow: In second approach use guiding instead of navigating.
As you read the forum (also the manual pages) and using Locus, you will see the diffetences.Greetings, Druki
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on July 09, 2012, 07:22:39
Really no other way? That seems quite cumbersome to me.
Menion: Would it be difficult to integrate beeline (guide on) into Navigate menu (perhaps with a little airplane icon)?
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on July 18, 2012, 12:47:30
hmm and what should be difference between current system "create new wpt with the coordinates ..."?

some extra button will just start guiding on current map center location, that's what you want? In this case you may use "long-click" on map, tap address, tap bottom button, tap guide ...
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on July 18, 2012, 14:55:27
Lets just forget, that it is only coordinates.
This navigate to screen gives a lot of target possibilites, not only coordinates.
Interesting for me as Geocacher are:
coordinates, projection, select from card and even the memory could be interesting.

So we have a lot in on menu that could easily be called.
And in most cases I don't need an extra waypoint at the targetposition but a quick way to beeline navigate to one of the earlier mentioned.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 06, 2012, 19:36:20
Just to push it up a little since it seems to be forgotten.
In my opinion it is good, to have all navigate options under one hood (in one menu).
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 06, 2012, 20:12:30
after a while of thinking - added as possible button to right panel only (or top panel)
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 08, 2012, 13:39:06
thx, looking foreward to try it out.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 08, 2012, 13:52:39
found in list of functions? Fine
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 10, 2012, 13:47:22
Quote from: "menion"
found in list of functions? Fine

Last message was in a hurry to go to holidays (handy typo try it out -> trackback ....) Now I reached our destination and but couldn't find the beeline button.
What I had in mind was something like this, so everything would be in one menu.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 10, 2012, 13:52:10
hmm  it's not a best idea. This dialog should be extended in case there will be more options, but all should be for "real navigation". Also this is used in creating track manually so in this case, "Guide" feature do not fit to this concept. And finally, "Guide on" is between GPS and some end-point, so "Start point" here is useless (which confirm that this do not belong to this dialog).

You asked for a quick way to start guiding on any point/place, so current version is even faster then this, isn't it?
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 10, 2012, 13:53:25
Especially since this menu which comes it first has all what is needed for a quick selection.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 10, 2012, 14:45:19
hmm I'm not sure I understand, sorry :). So it's what you wanted ("Guide to" button on right panel)? or not? I'm worried that nothing better will come from me :D
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 10, 2012, 17:30:09
I'm asking for a "Guide to (beeline) button" for a quick navigation without setting a POI at this place before. If this "guide to button" would lead to this picture:
(http://http://forum.locusmap.eu/download/file.php?id=1145&t=1)
to get a selection of possible target, that would be the best but for my purpose it would be sufficent to have this items out of the entire selection:
projection (°/m) ((in picture number 7)
coordinates (in picture number 6)
GPS (to find the way home later or to mesure a distance by walking from the starting point)(in picture number 1)

Since this already exists in the current "route to menu", I thought the easiest way is to add the beeline button to this menu (routing via beeline[straight line] is still a kind of routing isn't it?). Take for instance the pedestrian symbol in your routing menu. If the database mapquest or whoever is calculating that route is using has not sufficient information about the area, a beeline (straight line) from the actual position to the target could be a better "routing". Since all the routing is done online and I'm using Locus pro only offline I can't test test assumption but I hope You understand my intention.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 10, 2012, 17:33:56
ah ...
please did you tried this:
menu > functions > set right panel > add link - feature > GUIDE TO! ??
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: tommi on August 10, 2012, 18:23:17
Hmm, I only find NAVIGATE TO.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 10, 2012, 18:41:39
Quote
Hmm, I only find NAVIGATE TO.
Same with me  :?
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 10, 2012, 19:05:08
do you have last version 2.5.6? If so you have to "Add button to right panel". It's not listed in functions directly

scroll down to "tools section". I place it there because it's not real "function". Just a small tool
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 10, 2012, 19:17:30
Just changed the language from German to English to be on the safe side:
v. 2.5.6
Tools:
Points
Add new point
Add new point (camera)
quick new point
Quick switch
Screen lock


But no Guide to.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 10, 2012, 19:31:35
I wrote this 6.8.2012
Quote from: "menion"
after a while of thinking - added as possible button to right panel only (or top panel)

2.5.6 release - 5.8.2012

I very very sorry guys :)
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 10, 2012, 19:46:19
Sorry Menion I don't understand You. Did You implement that or not. In my version 2.5.6 it is not findable.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 10, 2012, 20:13:18
yes I implemented it, but second day after release. That's the point. So you have to wait till next release or some testing version ...
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 10, 2012, 22:32:59
OK, something to look foreward I guess.
Thanks!
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 11, 2012, 15:24:22
yes ... but here it is for sure if you want to test viewtopic.php?f=25&t=2110&p=15028#p15028 (http://forum.locusmap.eu/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=2110&p=15028#p15028)
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: nIgel on August 11, 2012, 22:36:27
Thanks, that is exactly what I had in mind. Very useful, hopefully not only for me.
Title: Re: Howto navigate to coordinates via beeline (Guide ON)?
Post by: Menion on August 12, 2012, 07:28:47
fine, finally :) you're welcome