Locus Map - forum

Content & Tools => Maps => Topic started by: RalfHN on June 19, 2012, 19:40:54

Title: opentopomap
Post by: RalfHN on June 19, 2012, 19:40:54
Is there a possibility to use http://www.opentopomap.org/ (http://www.opentopomap.org/) in Locus or when not to implement in Locus Maps?

Ralf
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: brotbuexe on June 20, 2012, 07:08:17
if it does not exist, create a /sdcard/locus/mapsOnline/custom/provider.xml and insert this text:
If it already exist edit it and just insert the <provider*> ... </provider> stuff inside the <providers> ... </providers> xml tags.

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<providers>
<provider id="11658" type="0" visible="true" required="false" background="-1">
<name>OSM - regional</name>
<mode>OpenTopoMap</mode>
<area></area>
<url><![CDATA[http://opentopomap.org/tiles/{z}/{x}/{y}.png]]></url>
<zoomPart>{z}-8</zoomPart>
<zoomMin>8</zoomMin>
<zoomMax>23</zoomMax>
<tileSize>256</tileSize>
<attribution>http://www.opentopomap.org/, Terms of Use: https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Tile_usage_policy</attribution>
</provider>
</providers>

The map will show in Onlinemaps / OSM - regional.

[attachment=0:2ztrhwm8]opentopomap.jpg[/attachment:2ztrhwm8]
[attachment=1:2ztrhwm8]opentopohiking.jpg[/attachment:2ztrhwm8]
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: RalfHN on June 20, 2012, 18:16:20
Thank you very much. It works fine.

Ralf
Title: AW: opentopomap
Post by: druki on June 20, 2012, 22:27:26
Great! Works fine. Thank you!
I love topos.
@berkley: Could you add it in the Map Tweaks?
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: menion on June 21, 2012, 07:08:08
Hey guys, why you firstly don't think if they cannot be added directly to Locus? It's OSM based map, so there should not be any problem ...

Only text on site is "Lizenz: Alle Inhalte von opentopomap.org sind frei verwendbar, sofern die Quellen genannt, die Lizenzen von OpenStreetMap und OpenDEM.info nicht verletzt und die kommerzielle Verwertung ausgeschlossen werden. Automatisierte Downloads großer Gebiete sind nicht erwünscht. Deshalb der Hinweis:
Sie wollen uns unterstützen? Wir suchen einen Mirrorserver mit unbegrenztem Traffic. (Rechenkapazität ist genügend vorhanden.)", hope you'll tell me what it mean because by translation, I'm not much clear from this.
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: tommi on June 21, 2012, 09:57:29
Hi Menion,
all content is free, source needs to be mentioned, licenses of openstreetmap and opendem.info may not be violated and no commercial exploitation.
Automated download of large areas undesired.
They look for a mirrorserver with unlimited traffic.
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: brotbuexe on June 22, 2012, 06:42:26
I was sure you will include it in locus, it was just a quick solution... :-)
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: menion on June 22, 2012, 10:36:38
oki, added with limited download to 5k. tiles. Also added very nice Americas TopOSM maps
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: moth69 on September 18, 2016, 07:20:25
Hi

 the tile url changed so its not working anylomger in locus
See http://opentopomap.org/about#verwendung

The new url is http://opentopomap.org/{z}/{x}/{y}.png

Please could you modify in such way ?

Thx
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: tjej01 on September 18, 2016, 16:49:34
Menion,
I have tried many times to download the  AmericasTopOSM map from the store.. With no success
Sorry if appears high jacking this thread.  but I have asked for assistance in the forum with zero response
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: menion on September 19, 2016, 16:31:18
Hello @moth69,
based on this bug report http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/a-problem-with-opentopomap , maps are already fixed and will be working in next Locus Map version.

@tjej01: no problem. May you please describe me more precise what happen when you tap on "Add" button? After small download, map should be added to list of online maps. So you may tap on "Display" button that appear instead of "add", which should forward you to Map manager > Online tab. Here choose "Top OSM" map located in "OSM - Outdoor" section.
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: tjej01 on September 21, 2016, 16:14:42
It just does not download when I tap "add".  Just acts like waiting  (circle spinning)
.
I have allowed it to continue for almost an hour and no download.

This has occurred (not everyday, but each time I attempted) over the past 3
 months.

I just give up.. in fact none of the no charge maps down load. I was successful with one for pay (but covered by first download free)
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: menion on September 22, 2016, 16:16:33
This button "add" should just download tiny file placed into Locus/mapsOnline/custom directory . Is this directory writable for Locus (placed in main Locus folder)?
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: tjej01 on September 23, 2016, 04:25:54
I apologize if this is duplicate..but it seems my first reply didn't get posted.

Yes, the directory and file structure is as you indicate. It is populated with *.PNG files. But there is no America's TopOSM file.

Thanks for your assistance.
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: Linad23 on October 17, 2016, 09:11:50
you, what i want to say? Locus is so good, that I use is everywhere and all the time!  :) But I have a question - why you don't want to do really good app for pc? I need to use android emulators http://android-emulator.net/en/ (http://android-emulator.net/en/) now, to have access to your app!
Title: Re: opentopomap
Post by: poutnikl on October 17, 2016, 11:51:50
...... why you don't want to do really good app for pc? I need to use android emulators http://android-emulator.net/en/ (http://android-emulator.net/en/) now, to have access to your app!

I think development for 2 or even more platforms would multiply the needed development effort, what is probably undesired. Menion is AFAIK the only app developer of the Locus team. The other team members focus on other things.