Locus Map - forum

Development => Versions => Released => Topic started by: jusc on April 28, 2012, 21:51:08

Title: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: jusc on April 28, 2012, 21:51:08
@Menion,
Thank you very much.

@all,
Please try the new map overlay function:
Choose p. e. OUTDOORACTIVE map for your map. Goto functions/map overlays, choose
Online map "OSM Cyclo" as overlay and set opacity to 60%. Now you have the OUTDOORACTIVE map with all cycling relations. Very very nice. :mrgreen:

Gesendet von meinem GT-P1000 mit Tapatalk 2
Title: Re: Version 2.3.0
Post by: jurajs on April 28, 2012, 22:25:05
looks ok... but when i try to use google terrain as a base map and vector map as an overlay .... it's not working... vector layer doesn't show-up. there is just a "loading..." sign on every tile  :?:
Title: Re: Version 2.3.0
Post by: brotbuexe on April 28, 2012, 22:26:25
Tried to make a Onlinemap as overlay from http://cycling.lonvia.de/en/ (http://cycling.lonvia.de/en/)

I only get "Map connot be selected" when trying to use it as overlay. As map it works fine.
Other maps also works fine as overlay.

   <provider id="10222" type="0" visible="true" required="false" background="-1">
      <name>Cycle</name>
      <mode>Overlay</mode>
      <area></area>
      <url><![CDATA[http://tile.lonvia.de/cycling/{z}/{x}/{y}.png]]></url>
      <zoomPart>{z}-8</zoomPart>
      <zoomMin>8</zoomMin>
      <zoomMax>27</zoomMax>
      <tileSize>256</tileSize>
   </provider>

It would be nice if this map is getting to work it should does not get a background color inside of locus, so it is not needed to make it transparent.

Tried the map in Mobac but it does get a black background in the sqlite. Then it does not work good as a overlay.
Another alternative would be, to only make one color transparent (set backgroundcolor).
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: jusc on April 29, 2012, 15:58:04
It seems to work if you use the online Version of Openstreetmap, because it´s just an overlay for these maps:[attachment=0:dhak99jb]SC20120429-154535_2.png[/attachment:dhak99jb]
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: menion on April 29, 2012, 16:37:53
you're correct jurajs, seems there is problem with using vector maps in this overlay system. I'll check it, thanks
Title: Re: Version 2.3.0
Post by: jusc on April 29, 2012, 17:01:58
Quote from: "jurajs"
looks ok... but when i try to use google terrain as a base map and vector map as an overlay .... it's not working... vector layer doesn't show-up. there is just a "loading..." sign on every tile  :?:

Correct, but, in the other direction it seems to work, vector as base map, Google  satellite as overlay. At last the result should be the same I think.
Title: Re: Version 2.3.0
Post by: tommi on April 29, 2012, 17:51:54
Quote from: "jusc"
Quote from: "jurajs"
looks ok... but when i try to use google terrain as a base map and vector map as an overlay .... it's not working... vector layer doesn't show-up. there is just a "loading..." sign on every tile  :?:

Correct, but, in the other direction it seems to work, vector as base map, Google  satellite as overlay. At last the result should be the same I think.
Ah, was just preparing a report but obviously I'm not the first who has this problem.
I'm not sure if result should really be the same. Does 50% opacity mean that result will be the same regarding readibility of text? I would try but currently I only get "Loading...".
Title: Re: Version 2.3.0
Post by: jusc on April 30, 2012, 16:01:02
Quote from: "brotbuexe"
Tried to make a Onlinemap as overlay from http://cycling.lonvia.de/en/ (http://cycling.lonvia.de/en/)

I only get "Map connot be selected" when trying to use it as overlay. As map it works fine.
Other maps also works fine as overlay.

It would be nice if this map is getting to work it should does not get a background color inside of locus, so it is not needed to make it transparent.

Tried the map in Mobac but it does get a black background in the sqlite. Then it does not work good as a overlay.
Another alternative would be, to only make one color transparent (set backgroundcolor).


I found a solution to use the vector map as base map and add "lovinia" as overlay. You have to download and store "Lovinia" tiles as personal map. Please, please do not stress their server and chose only a smaller area for that, p.e your home town. Zoom level  should be between 12 and 16 max.
In this case I used the "Classic Theme" of S_Wimmer (thanks for this).
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: eauland on May 01, 2012, 06:47:56
Hi,

When I add a directory in personnal maps and I restart, Locus doesn't add my directory, I must to quit Locus and to launch another app before to start Locus.

Regards.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: brotbuexe on May 01, 2012, 08:19:12
Quote from: "jusc"
I found a solution to use the vector map as base map and add "lovinia" as overlay. You have to download and store "Lovinia" tiles as personal map. Please, please do not stress their server and chose only a smaller area for that, p.e your home town. Zoom level  should be between 12 and 16 max.
In this case I used the "Classic Theme" of S_Wimmer (thanks for this).

Yes, that works fine. Thanks.

@menion, can you fix this bug?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: menion on May 01, 2012, 08:50:47
which bug? problems with vector maps as overlay? Fix is already on market
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: brotbuexe on May 01, 2012, 09:07:52
@menion, yes sorry, works fine now.

   <provider id="10401" type="0" visible="true" required="false" background="-1">
      <name>Lonvia route layers</name>
      <mode>Cycleroutes overlay</mode>
      <area></area>
      <url><![CDATA[http://tile.lonvia.de/cycling/{z}/{x}/{y}.png]]></url>
      <zoomPart>{z}-8</zoomPart>
      <zoomMin>8</zoomMin>
      <zoomMax>26</zoomMax>
      <tileSize>256</tileSize>
      <attribution>Overlay from cycling.lonvia.de, Terms of Use: http://cycling.lonvia.de/en/copyright (http://cycling.lonvia.de/en/copyright)</attribution>
   </provider>

Changed the name and mode, and max zoomlevel is 18.

Now with Hillshade:

   <provider id="10223" type="0" visible="true" required="false" background="-1">
      <name>OSM - layers</name>
      <mode>HikeBikeMap Hillshade overlay</mode>
      <area></area>
      <url><![CDATA[http://{s}.www.toolserver.org/~cmarqu/hill/{z}/{x}/{y}.png]]></url>
      <serverPart>a;b;c;d;e;f</serverPart>
      <zoomPart>{z}-8</zoomPart>
      <zoomMin>8</zoomMin>
      <zoomMax>24</zoomMax>
      <tileSize>256</tileSize>
      <attribution>Hillshade overlay tiles come from www.hikebikemap.de (http://www.hikebikemap.de), Terms of Use: https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Tile_usage_policy (https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Tile_usage_policy)</attribution>      
   </provider>


max zoomlevel is 16.

Attached two screenshots.

Now it would be nice to add mor than one overlay.
the overlay selection dialog is fine, just be able to add/remove more layers and ability to change the order.
For hillshade it would be nice to add hillshade layer more than once to exaggerate the shade.

Don't know if you like to add this layers in the online maps section of locus? If you do, should I try to get the permissions or would you do it? By the way, cmarqu, the maker of HikeBike map (and the hill shade tiles) is already on Satisfaction...

Edit: changed the providers to match the ones created in viewforum.php?f=43 (http://forum.asamm.cz/viewforum.php?f=43)
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: brotbuexe on May 01, 2012, 09:49:27
By the way lonvia.de have more overlays. There are hiking, mtb routes, skating. http://hiking.lonvia.de (http://hiking.lonvia.de) (on the top right corner you can switch between them). Then you can get the tiles path if you want...  (they all work the same)
And you can simply download gpx files of the routes on the page...

And don't download big areas, just use download on path if you know where you go.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: brotbuexe on May 01, 2012, 11:03:03
sorry to fill this up, but with overlays there is a whole new world of data. :)

from: http://map.openseamap.org/map/index.php?lang=en (http://map.openseamap.org/map/index.php?lang=en)
sea marks: http://tiles.openseamap.org/seamark/12/2142/1315.png (http://tiles.openseamap.org/seamark/12/2142/1315.png)

example from http://map.openseamap.org/map/weather.php (http://map.openseamap.org/map/weather.php):
forecasts:
Overlay with temperature: http://www.openportguide.org/tiles/actu ... /32/19.png (http://www.openportguide.org/tiles/actual/air_temperature/5/6/32/19.png)
wave heights on sea: http://www.openportguide.org/tiles/actu ... /37/21.png (http://www.openportguide.org/tiles/actual/significant_wave_height/5/6/37/21.png)
rain: http://www.openportguide.org/tiles/actu ... /36/19.png (http://www.openportguide.org/tiles/actual/precipitation/5/6/36/19.png)
and more...
see: http://www.bluewater-info.net/wiki_/Help:Weather_tiles (http://www.bluewater-info.net/wiki_/Help:Weather_tiles) for forecastinfo.

ITO World have transparent overlays:
http://itoworld.blogspot.de/2011/03/iit ... e-for.html (http://itoworld.blogspot.de/2011/03/iito-map-new-map-overlay-service-for.html)

From http://openpistemap.org/ (http://openpistemap.org/):
http://tiles.openpistemap.org/nocontour ... 0/1466.png (http://tiles.openpistemap.org/nocontours/12/2120/1466.png)

From http://parking.openstreetmap.de/ (http://parking.openstreetmap.de/):
Parking areas and icons:
https://toolserver.org/tiles/parktrans/ ... /44571.png (https://toolserver.org/tiles/parktrans/17/69160/44571.png)

From http://openptmap.org/ (http://openptmap.org/):
Open Transport layer: http://openptmap.org/tiles/ (http://openptmap.org/tiles/){z}/{x}/{y}.png

From http://www.openstreetbrowser.org (http://www.openstreetbrowser.org):
Open Transport layer (smaller lines as openptmap): http://tiles-pt.openstreetbrowser.org/t ... 4/1370.png (http://tiles-pt.openstreetbrowser.org/tiles/render_route_overlay_pt/12/2204/1370.png)
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: berkley on May 01, 2012, 13:01:14
Damn, this is a very nice collection!

Should this be done by the map tweak?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: tommi on May 01, 2012, 15:49:33
Quote from: "berkley"
Should this be done by the map tweak?
I understand this as a rhetorical question. :D
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: jusc on May 01, 2012, 16:43:13
Quote from: "berkley"
Damn, this is a very nice collection!

Should this be done by the map tweak?

Yes, of course  :mrgreen:  
But what we need on top, are a Icons for the some maps which  "brotbuexe" added a few minutes ago :mrgreen: to find them faster.  I saw a few screenshots, missing the map icons p.e. for OutdoorActive.
And I missed the "Norge Statkarts" in your last update.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: berkley on May 02, 2012, 07:56:14
I am just waiting for some feedback from Menion. Maybe there is the chance for direct support in Locus itself...
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: menion on May 02, 2012, 10:31:51
feedback from me? No problem :) I think that almost all these maps that comes from OSM data or web servers are usable in Locus, this should not be problem. As i think about it, best should be to place all maps that's main purpose is "to be overlay" into one separate category in Map manager > Online tab, called "Overlays"? ... and every overlay will have own params if it's available for download, how much, attributions etc ...
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: berkley on May 02, 2012, 13:28:15
Yes sure ;)
But do you provide them with Locus, or should someone else do this? :D
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: menion on May 02, 2012, 13:35:09
if they're legal, I'll gladly add them to Locus. I just have to prepare them in very similar way as are maps adding to providers.xml and in some cases also contact map owner. Hmm long way and thanks to new work (removing before around a two weeks added system for action bar and writting own) quite low of time ... so I want to mainly say, that I don't know what is already prepared, who to contact etc. Have to read all (not perfectly read) topics again...
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: berkley on May 02, 2012, 13:52:55
Ok, fine. I'll wait for you, before doing something stupid :D
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: brotbuexe on May 02, 2012, 18:36:10
For U.S.

Contour and "map features" as layer: http://toposm.com/us/index.html (http://toposm.com/us/index.html)
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: brotbuexe on May 02, 2012, 18:42:22
http://openmapsurfer.uni-hd.de/ (http://openmapsurfer.uni-hd.de/) have some layers, but the term of use looks not so good: http://openmapsurfer.uni-hd.de/contact.html (http://openmapsurfer.uni-hd.de/contact.html)
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: menion on May 03, 2012, 12:15:05
hmm fine,
  seems I fixed one serious issues that caused frequent crashing on many phones and because I need new release, I would like to add also something new to there ... so why not new section "Overlays" into online tab

seems that on forum is many topics around maps mainly from brotbuexe, but for me it's little bit ... mess :)

so 1. these Hill shade viewtopic.php?f=43&t=1877 (http://forum.asamm.cz/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=1877) can be added as I see only for Online view without download (use same TOS as main OSM server), no problem

so what next? :) One source of maps is here viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1859#p11967 (http://forum.asamm.cz/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1859#p11967) ... I'll check it today. Are here on forum any other sources that should be checked? Thanks
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: Freemindstuck on June 06, 2012, 21:39:09
I had asked earlier about rolling back version 2.4.X to 2.3.X because I believed version 2.4 was
locking my phone up.  I just wanted to set the record straight.  It was a bad microsd card.  
Apparently locus was using the sdcard more then my other apps and it appeared to be the problem.
I'd have posted this on the original thread but it dissapeared.  Thanks for your advice it got me
looking for another potential problem and help me solve the underlying problem.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: menion on June 07, 2012, 06:27:16
ah thank you for your information. It's correct that Locus uses card a lot during usage, so good to know, thanks!
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: jusc on June 07, 2012, 11:25:07
Ah, that makes sense. I moved Locus to sd-card, but freezed often while using. Later I bought a 64Gb SDXC-Card and now  Locus works, after moving back to the card, fine.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: tommi on June 07, 2012, 15:08:43
I know it's a bit off-topic but I moved Locus to internal SD and use the maps from external SD (using the "Directory with maps" feature). I think this makes Locus faster especially with Vector maps (it would be even faster with maps on internal SD, too but as usual there isn't enough free space).
What are your experiences/opinions?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: menion on June 07, 2012, 15:12:24
I can only confirm this. Access to data on internal memory is muuuuch faster then on card, mainly in case you have some low end card
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: tommi on June 07, 2012, 15:24:01
Quote from: "menion"
I can only confirm this. Access to data on internal memory is muuuuch faster then on card, mainly in case you have some low end card
I guess it makes sense to add this information and how-to to Locus manual as recommended configuration.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: merilius on June 14, 2012, 00:37:14
[SOLVED, see the update below]

Hi Menion,
After the today's update my vector and raster maps stopped zooming properly. They render at the current zoom level, but zooming in and out does not cause to 'rerender' in the new zoom level, just rescales pixels.
Screens attached.

I can force to rerender if I switch back and forth raster-vector-raster or vice versa.
The previous update was fine (I was biking with locus all day long and using vector maps)

PS. I like the new cutting of the ends of the tracks!!

UPDATE: I quit Locus and started it again. Now zooming works fine. Maybe it was related to the welcome screen shown after the update?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X
Post by: menion on June 14, 2012, 06:45:02
merillius, it's for sure because you have enabled zoom lock (most right button on bottom panel). Disable it and zoom should work "correctly"
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: tommi on June 16, 2012, 19:33:04
Hi Menion,
with Locus Pro 2.4.3 I can't activate navigation anymore if I select a previously stored route.
However if creating a new route and select "Guide on" (which means navigation here) navigation works as expected.
Instead of navigation with the stored route only the new feature "edit track" seems to be active.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: menion on June 17, 2012, 18:11:30
hmm this is weird, nothing has changed in database settings. May you try to export navigation that do not work, as GPX file and send me it? Or maybe import it back again and check if still not work
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: tommi on June 18, 2012, 20:52:58
Quote from: "menion"
May you try to export navigation that do not work, as GPX file and send me it? Or maybe import it back again and check if still not work
Sent GPX to private support mail address.
Thanks,
Tommi
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: menion on June 19, 2012, 22:33:37
hmm weird. How did you computed this route? (mainly from which source)

As I see in source of GPX file, it contain some route parameters but not the main one "<locus:rtePointAction>1</locus:rtePointAction>", which is private locus indicator, what to do on selected waypoint (like 1 mean, start of route I think)

anyway you may simply press "Guide on" on route you send me, this works for you right?
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: tommi on June 19, 2012, 22:51:33
Quote from: "menion"
hmm weird. How did you computed this route? (mainly from which source)
Mapquest - Fast with car

Quote from: "menion"
anyway you may simply press "Guide on" on route you send me, this works for you right?
No, only guiding is activated. No navigation.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: tommi on June 20, 2012, 19:18:17
Quote from: "menion"
hmm weird. How did you computed this route? (mainly from which source)
Mapquest - Fast with car

Quote from: "menion"
anyway you may simply press "Guide on" on route you send me, this works for you right?
No, only guiding is activated. No navigation.

*Edit*:
Foto: https://www.dropbox.com/s/d2pcl4xjh8dm7 ... ssible.jpg (https://www.dropbox.com/s/d2pcl4xjh8dm71p/NavigationImpossible.jpg)

Even more strange: with a different route I managed it to get "Navigieren" offered but only a single time, all other tries with this route ended with "Guide An", too.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: tommi on June 21, 2012, 20:58:37
Quote from: "tommi62"
Even more strange: with a different route I managed it to get "Navigieren" offered but only a single time, all other tries with this route ended with "Guide An", too.
This seems to have been a mistake by me. I could not reproduce this today.

Now I created several new routes and all work for navigation except the one I sent to you and the first one I created with Locus 2.4.3 which called my attention.
The difference between the working ones and the wrong one is the line for each point you already mentioned which is only contained in the working .gpx files:
<locus:rtePointAction>NumberOfPoint</locus:rtePointAction>

Still no idea why these lines weren't created by Locus. This seems to happen under conditions I could not reproduce now anymore.

So for the moment I would say "works for me" but I will keep an eye on this issue.
Thanks,
Thomas
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: menion on June 21, 2012, 21:07:38
Hi Tommi I just wanted to post here new info and also info for you.

So firstly: PUBLIC TESTING VERSION

focus mainly on new "Tracks screen", do you like, do you find it useful, is working for you correctly, etc etc...

Bug

    [LP-181] - update notification panels to be more user-friendly

Improvement

    [LP-178] - better notification possibilities for parking
    [LP-187] - Tracks screen with Dual system !!!!
    [LP-191] - turn by turn navigation: violett trackline hiding streetnames

New Feature

    [LP-177] - Exit Locus during recording/POI alert
    [LP-182] - Discard only tiles when you have a replacement.
    [LP-192] - New track category - GeoCaching
    [LP-193] - Custom backup location

and many many more fixes/improvements not listed above.

DOWNLOAD: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/8015949/Locus% ... .4.3.3.apk (https://dl.dropbox.com/u/8015949/Locus%20%28dev%29/2.4.3.3.apk)

Tommi: testing and no problem. "rtePointAction" is not a number of points but it's main idenficator for Locus, what to say on points. So if this value is missing, it's not possible to make voice navigation. Anyway I really have no idea why this happen. Also this should not be problem on Your side!! So if this start to happen again, let me know
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: gynta on June 22, 2012, 07:55:58
track menu
if you have no selected track
- tapping on a track name
- choose "map"
-> the track was selected

in old versions the track was selected and the display jumps to the track/map.
Title: AW: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: Jurlui on June 22, 2012, 09:29:37
Can someone explain how you manage to add a track point in the existing track?
Title: Re: AW: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: gynta on June 22, 2012, 09:57:20
Quote from: "Jurlui"
Can someone explain how you manage to add a track point in the existing track?
sure, but this is the wrong thread...
tapping on a trackpoint and you will see some options on the left side.
choose the tool symbol.
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: menion on June 22, 2012, 12:59:54
Quote from: "gynta"
track menu
if you have no selected track
- tapping on a track name
- choose "map"
-> the track was selected

in old versions the track was selected and the display jumps to the track/map.

thanks, fixed!

So no negative post on new system, that force you to same system as in points? (firstly select "category", after that finally work with tracks). Hmm , good :)
Title: AW: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: Jurlui on June 22, 2012, 15:22:37
Sorry for the offtopic question and thanks for the answer ;-)

Building a route and then routing doesn't work for me too, i can always only guide...(http://http://img.tapatalk.com/02ce0056-70de-5bc2.jpg)

Will upload later the gpx, perhaps it's a matter of the map, don't know, using these maps here
http://www.openandromaps.org/ (http://www.openandromaps.org/)
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: Hanka on June 22, 2012, 15:44:34
Hi,
it seems, that you created your route with helps the function "Add new route". If so, please, try to create a new route by this function, but with an option "Compute route" you find this option on the bottom panel (button with navigate symbol) of the screen "Add new route".
Title: Re: AW: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: tommi on June 22, 2012, 15:51:52
Quote from: "Jurlui"
Will upload later the gpx, perhaps it's a matter of the map
No, it has nothing to do with the map as the map is only the "background" on which the route/track is displayed.
With which routing service and settings did you create the route?

Finally I think it is the same problem as for me that (under until now unclear conditions) Locus doesn't write informations with routing instructions to the track.

@Menion: The problem is back; not for me but for Jurlui...
Title: Re: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: menion on June 22, 2012, 16:12:47
I don't think so. It's as Hanka wrote. Jurlui created route only with as points connected by line, not as routable track by any of routing services in Locus. There are no "red" points on Jurlui track and also only straight lines between corner points
Title: AW: [APP] - version 2.3.X & 2.4.X
Post by: Jurlui on June 22, 2012, 17:55:45
Yes, I just set a lot of points and then saved the track with the option to connect the points with a line.
I tried now to edit the existing route, just set the first point and then the last as the destination, can't test it now, but it looks now like this here(http://http://img.tapatalk.com/4f306031-96eb-78f0.jpg)