Locus Map - forum

Content & Tools => Maps => Topic started by: bronger on April 18, 2012, 11:44:36

Title: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: bronger on April 18, 2012, 11:44:36
Is there a maximum size for vecor maps?  I have a western Europe .map file in my mapsVector/ directory, yet Locus doesn't dislay it in the map selection menu.  Its size is 3.3 GB.

Can one test easily whether a .map file is valid?
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: menion on April 18, 2012, 11:45:32
I think it's global limitation on whatever file size - 2GB
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: bronger on April 18, 2012, 15:51:39
Quote from: "menion"
I think it's global limitation on whatever file size - 2GB
But the file is there -- I can see it with its full filesize with other apps on my smartphone.  It's just that Locus ignores it.  I think 4GB is the limit of the file system.  So is it a bug in Locus?
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: menion on April 18, 2012, 15:59:52
hmm I don't think it will be bug in Locus. If you created such huge map, please test it with AdvancedMapViewer here http://code.google.com/p/mapsforge/ (http://code.google.com/p/mapsforge/) (section download). If result will be same, then it's a problem of MapsForge and should be reported on their site. Otherwise I'll look at it. Also some logcat from Locus start should help me to check where is problem (logcat can be created for example with program CatLog).
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: bronger on April 18, 2012, 17:57:05
Quote from: "menion"
[...] If you created such huge map, please test it with AdvancedMapViewer here http://code.google.com/p/mapsforge/ (http://code.google.com/p/mapsforge/) (section download). If result will be same, then it's a problem of MapsForge and should be reported on their site. [...]
The AMV cannot display the map either: "Value too large for defined data type".  Well, mapsforge's own code generated that map.   ;)  Anyway, I'll take the discussion to their site.  What a pity, it was so difficult to make the map ...
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: menion on April 19, 2012, 10:56:55
bronger, I really suggest to separate your map to smaller parts. If this will be issue in Locus, I can tell you that this will have very very very low priority. Such huge fill have no benefit. 99% of area is not needed, huge file takes longer to create, take more time to generate tiles I believe, it's complicated to update because you have to create whole file again ... suggest to separate at least to two parts ...
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: bronger on April 21, 2012, 10:06:17
See http://http://code.google.com/p/mapsforge/issues/detail?id=301.
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: bronger on April 21, 2012, 10:11:36
Quote from: "menion"
bronger, I really suggest to separate your map to smaller parts.[...]
I will do so.

On the other hand, I also really want to have more than one country in a map.  I live in Aachen, Germany, with three countries within a range of 10 km.   ;)  I think on the long run, Locus/mapsforge should be able to handle such maps.  Crossing borders while navigating into the holidays is a common usecase, and people expect this to work seamlessly.  Moreover, creating such maps will become more and more feasible with modern hardware.
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: gynta on April 21, 2012, 11:56:44
Quote from: "bronger"
What a pity,...
like you said ;)
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: bronger on April 21, 2012, 13:10:29
You may test the map possibly with other tools here: http://https://bob.ipv.kfa-juelich.de/bronger/west_europe.osm.map.xz
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: jusc on April 21, 2012, 14:53:23
I believe there is no way. I have 2 RMaps with about 3,9 GB each. Both worked in the past with WinCE 5 TWoNav system.
Now, just tested with my S2 with SanDisk MicroSDXC 64GB I can see the maps with root explorer, but not open with Locus or Oruxmap.

in German: http://www.android-hilfe.de/android-all ... limit.html (http://www.android-hilfe.de/android-allgemein/173505-ics-dateigroessenlimit.html)
http://www.couchbase.com/issues/browse/CBMA-21 (http://www.couchbase.com/issues/browse/CBMA-21)
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: bronger on April 22, 2012, 10:15:26
Quote from: "jusc"
I believe there is no way. I have 2 RMaps with about 3,9 GB each. Both worked in the past with WinCE 5 TWoNav system.
Now, just tested with my S2 with SanDisk MicroSDXC 64GB I can see the maps with root explorer, but not open with Locus or Oruxmap.

in German: http://www.android-hilfe.de/android-all ... limit.html (http://www.android-hilfe.de/android-allgemein/173505-ics-dateigroessenlimit.html)
http://www.couchbase.com/issues/browse/CBMA-21 (http://www.couchbase.com/issues/browse/CBMA-21)
Thank you for the links!  However, they suggest there is a file size limit of 2GB.  This is not the case, it is 4 GB.  Thus, it is not an Android problem. I suspect a bug or limitation in mapsforge.
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: bronger on April 22, 2012, 11:21:11
Quote from: "bronger"
[...]Thank you for the links!  However, they suggest there is a file size limit of 2GB.  This is not the case, it is 4 GB.  Thus, it is not an Android problem. I suspect a bug or limitation in mapsforge.
I stand corrected.  Apparently, Android <3.0 has problems with accessing arbitrary positions in a file larger than 2GiB.  This has been fixed in Android 3.0.
Title: Re: Maximum size for vector maps
Post by: tommi on April 22, 2012, 14:06:29
As most people use Android 2.3 we should not use files >2GB if data shall be shared which is the case for vector maps with the exception of private ones.