Locus Map - forum

Support => Wishlist => Implemented => Topic started by: joeloc on December 04, 2011, 12:18:28

Title: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 04, 2011, 12:18:28
I recently treated myself to a Samsung Galaxy Note. Love the display, love the size, love the speed, love the Stylus! Just as convenient to handle as the good old windows mobile pocket pcs :-).

Quite understandably, all software these days is designed for finger control. Probably thats why adding points to a route is done by moving the map around, then hit a "+" symbol. With the perfect aim of a stylus however, it would be MUCH FASTER when I could simply click onto the map to add a new point. Maybe the route creation could be enhanced a little? Add a toggle for this new "immediate-mode" it in the route creation bar, then single clicks will keep adding points (and re-center the map onto the new point).

TwoNav does it like this and it works really exceptionally well on their Windows-CE Hardware with Styluses. No reason Android shouldnt be able to compete.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: gynta on December 04, 2011, 13:07:54
sounds good...
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 05, 2011, 13:43:40
hmm precise stylus on android? Quite surprise ...

this can be partially done by disabling address search and tapping on map with long click ... not exactly what you want, agree ...
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: gynta on December 05, 2011, 14:00:08
i disable the autoadress search. i tapping looooong time and nothing happens.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 05, 2011, 14:30:11
ah sorry, my mistake, you're correct, this do not work ...
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 05, 2011, 17:49:53
ok... long click, then click the bubble, then click plus symbol, that adds a clicked point to the route. still way more work than a simple single tap :-).

single tap doesnt seem to be used for much else in track/route creation mode. so while the track/route toolbar is displayed, you could make single taps add points immediately? and re-center the map on the newly added point.

if the single tap is on some other item in the map, you obviously display the normal popup menu instead.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 05, 2011, 18:08:43
If you still wonder what we mean with this "single tap creation mode", you could install TwoNav demo from https://market.android.com/details?id=c ... onav&hl=en (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.compegps.twonav&hl=en) . Start it up, use "TNAndroidTrial" as license code, try to find a map. Dont be shocked about the interface, everybody is :-).

Long click on any location in the map, chose "New..." and "Start route here" from popup menu. From now on, each single tap will add a point to the route and re-center the map. Very quick and convenient to create long tracks that way, when you cannot rely on cloudmap-navigation.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: Rob on December 05, 2011, 19:48:57
+111    !  
:-)
Rob
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 05, 2011, 21:25:13
nono, I have clear idea what you want ... there will be problem with tapping point on map and tapping just for new location ... what about adding point and centering on long click? will this be enough? Currently long click display address (or nothing if disable in settings) and in case you plan route, this will quickly add point. This solution will not cause any troubles to other functions .. hmm?
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: Rob on December 05, 2011, 21:56:28
Yes, good compromise. Can user define timelength of "long" click?
Thx for taking this issue, menion.
Krg
Rob
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 05, 2011, 22:41:46
I'm not sure it's a good idea to "abuse" long click. It has a function already: show point bubble and then context menu. That should still work in route/track creation mode. Modifying actions will in the end always confuse the user.

Besides, the idea with this mode is to create routes really FAAAAST: click click click click click click click click... done. Any artifical delay (ie waiting for long clicks) will make it pointless. I might just as well move the map around then.

I cant see a problem with using a simple single click. What am I missing? What are single clicks used for?
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: gynta on December 05, 2011, 22:51:13
In simple words:
if we are in "create route":
can be a toggle called "single tab".
and if i tabbing once the screen i create a new point.
if i exit (or finished) "create route" - the tabbing works normal.

hmm i hope thats was i want to say :mrgreen:
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 08, 2011, 17:08:43
ufff, try test version and let me know please ...
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 08, 2011, 17:32:31
Works nicely in new version! Cool :)
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: gynta on December 08, 2011, 17:51:58
dont work on sgs2 :oops:
"quick add" adds a point to somewhere on the map.

(no, my fingers are not thick)  ;)
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 08, 2011, 18:08:41
hm... on a second thought... my "quick add" points are about 0.5cm below where i actually tap. and that happens with finger & stylus. thats a bit weird, because the touch test app (http://https://market.android.com/details?id=org.hermit.touchtest) shows the touch screen to be very accurate.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 08, 2011, 20:00:42
thanks guys, i'll look at it ...
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 09, 2011, 19:47:42
Joe, mistake on my side of course. Should be finally fixed viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1250#p7349 (http://forum.asamm.cz/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1250#p7349)
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: gynta on December 09, 2011, 20:04:31
works now!

btw.
on enabled "map rotate view" doesnt work
i know this now. but...  ;)
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 09, 2011, 20:09:51
damn I forget to check rotation ... thanks!

hehe adding points to route during rotation is really funny :))

EDIT: gynta thanks, fixed and published
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: gynta on December 13, 2011, 00:45:09
Quote from: "menion"
damn I forget to check rotation..
and again in v1.15 pro  :mrgreen:

edit:
...but now i cant reproduce... :roll:
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 13, 2011, 06:55:32
nono, I was playing with it a low, are you sure that there is still problem? It's little bit hard for me to explain, but only issue that should be there is that tapping rectangle that is used to check if you tap on icon or not, is not rotating! So rectangle to check your tap is still from point on north on map. You may see it when you move with center cross over icon during rotation, that it's highlighted not exactly. But for finger tap, there should be no problem
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: gynta on December 17, 2011, 14:09:40
Quote from: "menion"
..are you sure that there is still problem? ...
No, it is not really a problem for me - but it is still present.
And if I can reproduce it, I'll write it again here.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 17, 2011, 21:42:01
damn, there much worst problem, try enable gps and screen rotate :) ... hmm I'll release new version soon. I also discovered, that problem with touch during rotation is cause by some issue in android itself. This will be fixed by using OpenGL instead of current 2D system ...
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: tommi on December 17, 2011, 21:49:06
Just tried to use this quick add, too. But I'm not able to enable quick add mode (it is enabled in the menu with confirm and cleanup but it doesn't react if I tab on it).
What am I doing wrong?
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 17, 2011, 21:59:45
if is enabled, then just tap on map on any place! this should add point in place you tap. Is this working?

Ah you mean, you're not able to check this button? no matter where you tap, it's still disabled??
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 17, 2011, 22:05:51
works for me... i never rotate though.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: tommi on December 17, 2011, 22:24:15
Quote from: "menion"
if is enabled, then just tap on map on any place! this should add point in place you tap. Is this working?

Ah you mean, you're not able to check this button? no matter where you tap, it's still disabled??
Exactly.
As long as I added 0 points to the route both Confirm and Clear have a light background. Quick add has a dark background.
If I added the first point (via the left + button) on the map center Clear gets a dark background. If I add a 2nd point Confirm, Clear and Quick add have a dark background.
Quick add always has the dark background but I can't add points by a simple tap on the map. Testwise disabling of "Allow address search" and "Simple multi-touch" doesn't help.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 18, 2011, 15:41:56
"Quick add" have always dark background. You may select it whenever you want. Are you able to check it? Just tap on light rectangle next to text "Quick add" till it have green line over it (like on screenshot). Then you'll be able to add points simple by tapping on screen ... so you need to have checked "Quick add" button ...

[attachment=0:1gwc106u]device-2011-12-18-154115.png[/attachment:1gwc106u]
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 18, 2011, 16:00:45
btw... isnt the clear button in this popup menu the same as the X button in the toolbar?

the popup menu is a bit confusing. why would i press a "settings-like" icon to save my route? in general, it might be better to fit all creating functions into the toolbar directly, eg
plus minus route quick confirm cancel

the huge width scroller on screen top is a bit unnecessary imho. is that really needed so often to warrant that amount of screen space? more useful would be a fancy realtime altitude profile :-).
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 18, 2011, 17:13:04
it isn't. X button end whole route creating process. "Clear" button only clear all current added points, so you may start again. And all in one row is not possible. On most phones, seven buttons is too much to single row ...
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: joeloc on December 18, 2011, 19:21:57
the "clear all points" function could also be implemented with long-tap on minus button. makes total sense, logically: single tap deletes one point, long tap deletes all points.

-> one button less, only six to go. maybe that fits.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 18, 2011, 19:31:19
hmm good idea ... nice, thanks
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: tommi on December 18, 2011, 20:22:20
Quote from: "menion"
"Quick add" have always dark background. You may select it whenever you want. Are you able to check it? Just tap on light rectangle next to text "Quick add" till it have green line over it (like on screenshot). Then you'll be able to add points simple by tapping on screen ... so you need to have checked "Quick add" button ...
Thank you Menion! Due to low dimmed display I didn't recognize that there is a check box next to the text. Now I set the tick and quick add of points works. :lol:
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: Khaytsus on December 19, 2011, 00:29:19
Quote from: "menion"
damn, there much worst problem, try enable gps and screen rotate :) ... hmm I'll release new version soon. I also discovered, that problem with touch during rotation is cause by some issue in android itself. This will be fixed by using OpenGL instead of current 2D system ...
Yeah, I went caching yesterday and was like wth???  when my map starts running across the country ;)
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on December 19, 2011, 13:19:28
heh, sorry for that. I'm trying to do as much speed improvements, that results are ... sometimes unpredictable :D
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: crozet on November 22, 2012, 14:10:12
Hi, on my galaxy note2, Android 4.1.1, Fmw N7100XXALJ3, I have trouble in quick add route:
- add route no-quick method: OK, no limit
- add route quick methode: Locus exit sometimes at the 6, 7, 8 or 9th  points (sometimes more 23).
- add route no-quick method and quick method: no limit for quick methode, KO at the first point added with the quick method.

Same problem with or without the S-pen.
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: gynta on November 23, 2012, 16:24:29
Quote from: "crozet"
- add route quick methode: Locus exit sometimes

hi crozet
hmm unfortunately i have to say that i can confirm your problem. :|
have testet in many different ways and sometimes Locus quit or crash.
today after a test i have to reboot my freezed phone.
i can't reproduce this FC in a row.
So i can't create a Clip or a catlog for Menion.
but i will looking for.
 
thanks crozet, for reporting
Title: Re: Single click "immediate" route create mode
Post by: menion on November 28, 2012, 15:46:40
cozet thanks for report, gynta thanks for perfect video + additional information

I'm able to reproduce it also, interesting. In log is only a few lines

Code: [Select]
11-28 15:28:03.915: I/ActivityManager(2302): Process menion.android.locus.pro (pid 19634) (adj 0) has died.
11-28 15:28:03.930: W/WindowManager(2302): java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Requested window android.os.BinderProxy@43575e30 does not exist
11-28 15:28:03.930: W/WindowManager(2302): at com.android.server.wm.WindowManagerService.windowForClientLocked(WindowManagerService.java:8773)
11-28 15:28:03.930: W/WindowManager(2302): at com.android.server.wm.WindowManagerService.windowForClientLocked(WindowManagerService.java:8764)
11-28 15:28:03.930: W/WindowManager(2302): at com.android.server.wm.WindowState$DeathRecipient.binderDied(WindowState.java:932)
11-28 15:28:03.930: W/WindowManager(2302): at android.os.BinderProxy.sendDeathNotice(Binder.java:449)
11-28 15:28:03.930: W/WindowManager(2302): at dalvik.system.NativeStart.run(Native Method)

that's all ... so from this I'm really not able to find problem. Anyway after some testing (and around 10000 added points), I found that it may be caused by flowing of the map to new position. So I changed a code a little and seems that error do not occur again. That anyway do not mean it's not there, because I wasn't able to reproduce it everytime :/ ... so thanks for now and we'll see ;)

EDIT: after next few thousands clicks :) - damn ... it's still there :/