Author Topic: launching navigation app from within locus  (Read 467 times)

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
launching navigation app from within locus
« on: June 06, 2018, 08:31:01 »
i would like to launch a navigation app for car navigation from within locus, to navigate to a certain waypoint.
how can i add a navigation app to the navigation menu of locus?

so far, locus only displays tomtom navigation and google maps, while other navigation apps don't show up.
i would like to add e.g. maps.me navigation.

i don't think that launching this app is prevented from the app itself.
when i use gdak to select a destination waypoint, this allows me to launch any of my installed navigation apps to navigate to the waypoint, including maps.me.

 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10868
  • Thanked: 191 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: launching navigation app from within locus
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2018, 11:41:46 »
Good day,
try to tap on "Navigation apps" at bottom of navigation popup in point detail.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
Re: launching navigation app from within locus
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2018, 20:25:28 »
hi menion
yes, this is what i tried to do. navigation-apps shows
- here we go
- tomtom go
- google maps

when using navigate from gdak, the apps to select are
- maps.me
- navogator
- dynavix
- tomtom go
- here we go
- google maps

i.e. while gdak shows all navigation apps installed on the device, locus only shows a few of them.

i'm actually evaluating a new navigation app for car navigation, and i think it would really be nice if this one could be used from within locus to select a destination.
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10868
  • Thanked: 191 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: launching navigation app from within locus
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2018, 21:25:59 »
Hello bongo,
ah you are correct. This is anyway because maps.me do not support this type of request: start navigation.
I see currently only possible workaround to center map to your desired place and press menu > share > other map apps. Here you should get maps.me app. To make it faster, place "Share" button into right functions panel. Hope this helps.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
Re: launching navigation app from within locus
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2018, 10:51:03 »
yep, that works...
thanx very much for your help!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Thanked: 49 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: launching navigation app from within locus
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2018, 16:09:04 »
It seems odd to me that if I select a point by a long tap and go to the point detail screen, I am able to share the cursor position (centre of screen usually) rather than the selected point location, which would be the expected behaviour.


Sent from my XT1039 using Tapatalk

 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10868
  • Thanked: 191 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: launching navigation app from within locus
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2018, 16:54:13 »
In detail of point, you share coordinates of map center? Where?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Thanked: 49 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: launching navigation app from within locus
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2018, 19:37:21 »
@menion: Actually you don't, it's just that the "Share with other map apps" option says."current cursor map location" rather than "current point map location". In fact it shares the position of the active point. Perhaps it depends on what you mean by cursor: for me, it is the map centre cross or pointer.

point details> share > other map apps
« Last Edit: June 08, 2018, 19:40:09 by john_percy »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10868
  • Thanked: 191 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: launching navigation app from within locus
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2018, 07:46:24 »
Ah you are correct. Same text used in two different situations. I'll improve it.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!