Author Topic: Locus on a bike computer!  (Read 1079 times)

Offline cye

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Hammerhead Karoo / Oneplus 2
Locus on a bike computer!
« on: March 20, 2018, 06:54:01 »
Hey all,

I recently got a Hammerhead Karoo, a Garmin 1030-type competitor which runs Android.

The default device is locked down, but it was pretty simple to sideload apps via adb, and even to unlock the bootloader, port TWRP, and install Play Services.

So of course I had to get Locus on it, and the results are amazing. The battery life, ruggedness, and quarter-turn compatibility of a real bike computer coupled with the power and customizability of Locus. Super happy with this setup, and I had to share!

Navigating with Elevate and a Strava overlay:


Using a custom screen for small displays:


Shot of a Karoo mounted to a bike: (not close to my own bike right now, so couldn't take my own picture...)


Next up is designing a custom screen/dashboard for this form factor...
« Last Edit: March 31, 2018, 08:11:28 by cye »
 
The following users thanked this post: Michal, Mario4Zion

Online Christian

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 759
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus on a bike computer!
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2018, 09:48:52 »
Nice! Thank you for your short report. Keep us updated!
It's true that the Karoo has no buzzer/beeper??!?
 

Offline jajaballard

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: SM-G900F Andriod 6.0.1 Nokia8 Android8.1
Re: Locus on a bike computer!
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2018, 18:19:53 »
Interesting. Please keep us up to date withe the details
 

Offline tapio

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 103
  • Thanked: 7 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Sony Xperia Z1
Re: Locus on a bike computer!
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2018, 05:35:56 »
Interesting device. Because basically I'm done with Garmin.
BTW, what a weird painting like theme is this?!
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 05:37:34 by tapio »
 

Offline skwal

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: xcompact
Re: Locus on a bike computer!
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2018, 08:50:32 »

BTW, what a weird painting like theme is this?!

strava heat map
 

Offline jajaballard

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: SM-G900F Andriod 6.0.1 Nokia8 Android8.1
Re: Locus on a bike computer!
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2018, 12:39:08 »
Any further details on unlocking  etc and make this thing Locus ready?
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10610
  • Thanked: 146 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Locus on a bike computer!
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2018, 16:11:08 »
Among other things, what exactly means that device is locked? You cannot simply install any! other APK file on it or just some Google Services stuff?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline cye

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Hammerhead Karoo / Oneplus 2
Re: Locus on a bike computer!
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2018, 08:10:33 »
(sorry for the response delay)

By "locked", I actually just mean that the device comes with nothing that would let you install third party apps: there's no browser or app store preinstalled, and the launcher only has static links.

But thankfully, the device retains developer mode, and sideloading .apks is done the usual way. After installing a custom launcher and basics like a browser, the device functions pretty much like any other Android device.

In addition, there's a bootloader unlock toggle in developer mode, so no exploits are required to root the device (and install play services, etc). I needed to port TWRP to do so, (available here), but that's only a one-time thing.

If you didn't want to root however, you can also install Locus from the Amazon marketplace, which sideloads just fine.

(jajaballard hopefully that's enough info to point you in the right direction--otherwise, the process is standard enough that looking things up on xda will help)
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard