Author Topic: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )  (Read 12176 times)

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10754
  • Thanked: 170 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #150 on: April 11, 2018, 22:20:48 »
I'm little lost now.
Based on your screenshots and settings, all seems to work as expected.
With disabled "Strict route following", app just display your real location as you know.
For your use case should make more sense to use common settings with enabled "Strict..." and just disable auto-recalculation. Then, when you move out of route for more than defined "Maximum allowed deviation", navigation just switch to guidance and you will see your real location as well.

Anyway, I do not fully understand what now works differently compared to the previous version. Will have to try tomorrow in the field.

Unfortunately you and kyle here, are only two who reports some remaining problem with GPS in this new version so we have to solve it fast to release a new version as soon as possible ;).
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Condor

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: HTC_One_M9_pro (HTC_Desire_500) HTC_Desire_300_free
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #151 on: April 11, 2018, 23:11:56 »
@Menion
I'll watch the navigation screen for 3 years and know when it works. I know how to estimate 3s before Eliška starts talking.
But OK. The current solution for my real use is, unfortunately, going back to the functional version 3.29

I'm attaching a functional navigation screen from the old version.
With identical settings.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 23:47:37 by Condor »
 

Offline Viajero Perdido

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Nexus 7 (2013) and Blackview BV6000s, both Android 6.
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #152 on: April 11, 2018, 23:44:36 »
GPS management seems good with beta 3.30.2.8.

I went for a walk and recorded a track, and the track corresponds very well with earlier tracks and the OSM map.  I noticed estimated accuracy as good as 3m; in a recent version a few days ago I never saw <10m, as others have mentioned.

And it now seems to turn off GPS reliably when Locus isn't using it and isn't focussed.  Earlier I had issues with that.

I'm using Android 6 and have GPS set to Device Only.
 

Offline Condor

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: HTC_One_M9_pro (HTC_Desire_500) HTC_Desire_300_free
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #153 on: April 12, 2018, 00:19:54 »
I'm just looking at my backup program that my beta has overwritten my Locus Pro backups so I've lost 3 latest versions of the app! They have the same name Locus map.
So I have no functional version!
 :-\ :( >:(
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10754
  • Thanked: 170 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #154 on: April 12, 2018, 06:58:32 »
I'm stupid ... I talk about "route following" settings, but what you need is simply disable "snap to route" settings below. Sorry! Give it a try ...

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 248
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #155 on: April 12, 2018, 07:26:15 »
Testing the BETA version on Android 7 runs smoothly. I did not find any trouble in the other three records.
I've only tested Android 4.2 once. The recording went smoothly. But I was having trouble turning off GPS satellites after recording. The GPS signaling icon was white, but a beep sounded to signal the loss of GPS signal. I tried to turn the GPS compass on and off again. Still, I noticed at the end of Locus that the phone still searches for satellites and ends when Locus is turned off. This is not happening on Android 7. I'm still restarting the phone and running a new test. Then let me know.
One more question. After restarting the Locus (PRO and BETA), they create a data backup. It is necessary? It slows down on slow phones.

CZ: Testování BETA verze na Android 7 probíhá bez problémů. V dalších třech záznamech jsem nenarazil na potíže.
Testoval jsem zatím jen jednou na Android 4.2. Záznam proběhl bez problémů. Potíže jsem ale měl s vypnutím satelitů GPS po ukončení záznamu. Ikona signalizující GPS byla bílá, ale přesto se ozval zvukový signál oznamující ztrátu GPS signálu. Zkusil jsem na "kompasu" GPS znovu zapnout a vypnout. Přesto jsem si při ukončení Locusu všiml, že telefon stále vyhledává satelity a skončí až po vypnutí Locusu. Na Android 7 se tohle neděje. Dnes ještě telefon zrestartuji a provedu nový test. Pak dám vědět.
Ještě jeden dotaz. Po restartu telefonu Locus (PRO i BETA) vytvářejí zálohu dat. Je to nutné? U pomalých telefonů to dost zdržuje.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2018, 07:29:31 by Žajdlík Josef »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10754
  • Thanked: 170 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #156 on: April 12, 2018, 07:37:53 »
Thanks for a tests!
I believe, no need to reset your device. If GPS is still enabled even if you disable it in Locus Map, then it will be definitely some problem in app, so save your time. I'll try to simulate it also on 4.x device.

Backups: how often you restart your device? You probably have set a frequent automatic backups?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 
The following users thanked this post: Žajdlík Josef

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 248
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #157 on: April 12, 2018, 08:00:54 »
Backups: how often you restart your device? You probably have set a frequent automatic backups?

I turn off my Android 4.2 phone often. I only use it for the weekend route records, so it's useless to keep it on. In addition, Alcatel has a quick power feature so the system loads up quite quickly. As far as I know, I have the automatic backup on my phone completely off, but check it out (in the evening).

CZ: Telefon s Androidem 4.2 vypínám často. Používám ho jen na víkendové záznamy tras, tak je zbytečné aby byl stále zapnutý. Alcatel má navíc funkci rychlého zapnutí takže systém nabíhá docela rychle. Pokud vím, tak automatické zálohování mám na tomto telefonu úplně vypnuté, ale zkontroluji to (večer).
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 248
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #158 on: April 12, 2018, 20:18:17 »
Results of today's BETA test.
Android 4.2.
Recording without problems. After the phone was restarted, there was no problem with the disabling of the GPS. Tested several times in a row. After shutting down scheduled backups, backup files were stopped after the phone restart. So I'm having trouble solving this phone.
Android 7.
Record again without any problems. However, I encountered one minor problem.
I've tried adding "steps" to the dashboard. Unfortunately, walking and recording does not show anything. I'm sure Galaxy A3 sensors have the Samsung Health Steps app measured reliably. If this feature is problematic, it might be easier to completely drop it, I do not know if someone is using it.

CZ: Výsledky dnešních testů BETA verze.
Android 4.2.
Záznam bez problémů. Po restartu telefonu se už neopakovaly potíže s nevypínáním GPS. Vyzkoušeno několikrát po sobě. Po vypnutí plánovaných záloh se přestaly po restartu telefonu vytvářet záložní soubory.  Považuji tedy potíže na tomto telefonu vyřešené.
Android 7.
Záznam opět bez problémů. Narazil jsem ale na jeden drobnější problém.
Zkusil jsem přidat do dashboardu položku "kroky". Bohužel za chůze ani při zapnutém záznamu nic neukazuje. Jsem si jist, že Galaxy A3 senzory má protože app Samsung Health kroky měří spolehlivě. Pokud je tato funkce problematická, možná by bylo jednodušší ji úplně vypustit, nevím jestli to někdo používá.
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 524
  • Thanked: 14 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #159 on: April 13, 2018, 00:18:23 »
Issue with satellites.Do you see tiny icon with satellite at top? Here is hidden rest of sats. System report to Locus map some parameters that are used to draw them on correct place. Anyway sometimes sats does not report to Locus correct values, so they cannot be drawn. Nothing I may do here, sorry.
You mean like in this screen cap? No worries - understood - thanks.

 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10754
  • Thanked: 170 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #160 on: April 13, 2018, 18:22:48 »
*** BETA 3.30.3 RC ***
Please use is today/tomorrow. If no serious problem remains, I'll publish final Pro version in Sunday to finally get rid of remaining problems with GPS.

@Žajdlík Josef
amazing, thanks for a tests! Seems that except @Condor, now all are satisfied :).

About "steps" ... this number comes from "step counter" sensor connected over ANT+. It is truth, that most of devices allows to count steps directly.

@Andrew Heard
yes, exactly as you marked on your screenshot. I may only hide this top small symbol, nothing more.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 248
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #161 on: April 13, 2018, 19:34:26 »
One big mistake left Menione uncorrected. There seems to be misunderstanding as a result of my bad English, I will describe it below in Czech. The same mistake was made by Andrew Heard, and it is a non-switching of the dashboard.
Czech description:
Pokud mám přednastavení 1) bez dashboardu a přepnu na přednastavení 2) obsahující dash, je vše v pořádku, dash se zobrazí. Jestli ale mám v přednastavení 1) zobrazený dash A) a přepnu na přednastavení 2) obsahující dash B), zůstane zobrazený dash A). Mohu pak jedině kliknout ručně na tlačítko skrýt/zobrazit dash, a zobrazí se správně dash B).
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Thanked: 77 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #162 on: April 13, 2018, 20:24:23 »
BETA 3.30.3 RC
Quote
Cache details> click top right button > "Notes" > "Locus Map" wurde beendet
solved :)
Quote
the Beta didn´t use the "order of tabs" from config.cfg
e.g.14|1|11|12|13|16
solved :)
one behavior is furthermore different to PRO:
if config.cfg > Geocaching > when opening Geocache screen first open > is empty
-with Pro "Basic Info" is opened,
-with Beta RC always first tab of order list is opened, in my case 14=Logs
Quote
my setting: keep 10 logs
if i run "load logs" in log tab, they are downloaded but not displayed (temporary) as in PRO
no improvement
Locus PRO 3.32.1
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Thanked: 77 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #163 on: April 13, 2018, 21:19:55 »
Quote
And "5+" ... small quizz :). I've improved it little bit so you may guess in next version once more
sorry, can´t solve your quizz, difficulty for me D5 :P
behavior i observed: cache listings from  PQ (not updated) display e.g.  ...+1 - ...+60
if i update caches which display ....+6 or more, after update value is always ....+5 ????

Release Notes "visible cache types also for a found cache"
i use  another icon pack for geocaches and didn´t see the cache type icon beside the found smiley???
Locus PRO 3.32.1
 

Offline Condor

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: HTC_One_M9_pro (HTC_Desire_500) HTC_Desire_300_free
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #164 on: April 13, 2018, 22:01:22 »
During navigation, the purple line of the route flashes. It will disturb it.

During automatic route change,  map rotation does not work. One does not know where the direction is. It is very important in this situation.

The accuracy of the position is better but not as accurate as in 3.29.

Subjectively, it seems to me that CPU usage is greater and even higher temperature.

Thank you for the type of cache.