Author Topic: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )  (Read 1365 times)

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10209
  • Thanked: 83 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
[APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« on: October 11, 2017, 14:11:54 »
Important links
- blog post about major version
- list of news of public versions

Versions
16. 10. 2017 - Locus 3.26.2
12. 10. 2017 - Locus 3.26.1
11. 10. 2017 - Locus 3.26.0
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 19:27:48 by menion »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 
The following users thanked this post: Bucky Kid

Offline lor74cas

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Thanked: 6 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2017, 14:37:39 »
I report here a comment in received in PM because the tread was just closed:
Hi unfortunately I cannot reply in that thread where you write about route planning. There is no reply button for me.

Exactly my experience. I think very often when dragging the map it happens that it adds a new point or moves existing ones. Not sure. Seems like as if my finger loses connection to the touch screen of my sony z1 for a millisecond. I prefer brouter planning on PC because on Locus it is not fun.
 
The following users thanked this post: tapio

Offline tapio

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Sony Xperia Z1
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 14:39:29 »
In the old thread lor74cas wrote "dragging the points often is very difficult, sometimes dragging occurs when unwanted. More usable is moving the points by modify menu and using pick on the map.
For me dragging is not convenient and produces more errors than results."


Exactly my experience and beside the small screen (Sony Z1) one of the reasons why I do planning on PC mostly (brouter-web).

I don't know if it's the device or if there can be done some sensitivity tuning on Locus' end... sometimes while dragging the finger seems to lose connectivity to the screen and then Locus does unwanted things. Moving waypoints, adding waypoints, can't remember. I think it mostly happens when dragging map.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2017, 14:41:24 by tapio »
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 163
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2017, 15:11:41 »
Suggestion how to change the point shift on small screen phones. Click a point and select "move point" in the menu. Then click on another location and the point moves. This could work, especially in combination with the zoom option.

CZ: Návrh jak změnit posun bodu na malých obrazovkách telefonů. Kliknout na bod a v menu zvolit "přesunout bod". Pak kliknout na jiné místo a bod se přesune. To by mohlo fungovat, obzvlášť v kombinaci s možností zoomu.
 
The following users thanked this post: Bucky Kid

Offline slarti76

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Galaxy Note 4, S4 & S2 - Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2017, 17:56:23 »
Wow! Congratulations, Menion!
Probably the single most amazing new feature since I started with Locus! The editor is so clean and intuitive - great.
And thx to everyone here discussing the development progress - it really paid off!
 
The following users thanked this post: menion

Offline lor74cas

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Thanked: 6 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2017, 18:32:16 »
Suggestion how to change the point shift on small screen phones. Click a point and select "move point" in the menu. Then click on another location and the point moves. This could work, especially in combination with the zoom option.

CZ: Návrh jak změnit posun bodu na malých obrazovkách telefonů. Kliknout na bod a v menu zvolit "přesunout bod". Pak kliknout na jiné místo a bod se přesune. To by mohlo fungovat, obzvlášť v kombinaci s možností zoomu.
Yes we know it but we are 3 beta tester with the same issue in this small beta group . Let's see if the normal users will find also this issue. You cannot tell them all not to use drag and use modify instead. If you release something new it must work for all or it needs something to turn it on/off.

Inviato dal mio SM-G800F utilizzando Tapatalk

 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10209
  • Thanked: 83 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2017, 18:36:02 »
No worry, just give it a while. Btw drag & drop worked all these years ... how you used previous "Add new route & measure" feature? No dragging? Or is new route planner a lot slower then previous planner?

Also if anyone encounter crashes right at start on 4.x devices, sorry, bug-fix tomorrow.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Bucky Kid

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 265
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2017, 19:18:44 »
Hi menion, new route planner is awesome, but on old phone which I use only for Locus, there are crashes

- when I open route planner
- when I finish editing track

The device is running Android 4.4.4 KitKat so I don't know if that's a missing backward compatibility or a configuration specific bug. On devices with higher Androids both features seem working.
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2068
  • Thanked: 54 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2017, 19:27:53 »
Hi menion
thanks for new version!
- "import" in data screen "point tab" and "tracks tab" top right on 3-dot button is gone :-[ Why?
- long click on these 3-dot button > label "more options" appear, with no further options ?!
Locus PRO 3.26.1
 

Offline lor74cas

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Thanked: 6 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2017, 19:29:57 »
Hi menion
thanks for new version!
- "import" in data screen "point tab" and "tracks tab" top right on 3-dot button is gone :-[ Why?
- long click on these 3-dot button > label "more options" appear, with no further options ?!
Press the big + icon on bottom right


Inviato dal mio SM-G800F utilizzando Tapatalk

 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2068
  • Thanked: 54 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2017, 19:34:16 »
@ lor74cas
thanks, this work for me for points :) but not for tracks :-[
Locus PRO 3.26.1
 

Offline lor74cas

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Thanked: 6 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2017, 19:45:42 »
@ lor74cas
thanks, this work for me for points :) but not for tracks :-[
Confirmed the import track icon is there but it does nothing

Inviato dal mio SM-G800F utilizzando Tapatalk

 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 427
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2017, 23:09:27 »
Btw drag & drop worked all these years ... how you used previous "Add new route & measure" feature? No dragging? Or is new route planner a lot slower then previous planner?
My experience is that drag & drop in new Route Planner has similar behavior/ dynamics to old "Add new route & measure". I never used drag & drop in "Add new route & measure" because A) there was no undo; B) it was really only useful for short distance; C) couldn't move to existing point. Operation is slightly confusing when first used, and does take some training and experience to use accurately. It is useful in Route Planner to quickly create a Shaping point.

@menion - updated to Locus Pro 3.26 but crash in Route Planner when I tap on the big blue Route Profile button - "Unfortunately Locus Map has stopped" - what do we call this button so everyone here uses same language/ terminology?

Funny - until I read the 3.26 news http://www.locusmap.eu/news-version-3-26-0/ I didn't notice that each Shaping point icon has a number inside. On a small screen this is nearly impossible to see. Is this number of use if too small to see?

I note we should adopt standard terminology "auxiliary points" instead of "track points".

I note missing video links in the news at "Here is a short video introducing new Route planner: {RP video}" & "Check this short video introducing new Track editor: {TE video}".
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 00:00:18 by Andrew Heard »
Sony Z1, Samsung Galaxy Note 8
 

Offline Bucky Kid

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 265
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2017, 00:52:17 »
@menion - updated to Locus Pro 3.26 but crash in Route Planner when I tap on the big blue Route Profile button - "Unfortunately Locus Map has stopped" - what do we call this button so everyone here uses same language/ terminology?
It looks you have old phone. What's the Android you use?

It seems more users meet the same problem:
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/version-3-26-crashes-every-time-if-typ-of-routing-button-is-pressed-in-rout-planing-window

My bet is broken backwards compatibility (Locus minimum Android version is 4.0).
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 00:56:51 by Bucky Kid »
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 427
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2017, 08:09:15 »
@menion - updated to Locus Pro 3.26 but crash in Route Planner when I tap on the big blue Route Profile button - "Unfortunately Locus Map has stopped" - what do we call this button so everyone here uses same language/ terminology?
It looks you have old phone. What's the Android you use?
Thanks @Bucky Kid. Well observed. 3.26.0 working fine with Sony Xperia Z1/ Android 5.0. Crashing with Samsung Note tablet/ Android 4.0.3. Tablet was working fine with the 3.25.5.5 beta.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 08:17:19 by Andrew Heard »
Sony Z1, Samsung Galaxy Note 8