Author Topic: Dynamic elevation -problem  (Read 638 times)

Offline locuscycling

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Dynamic elevation -problem
« on: December 10, 2016, 17:49:34 »
Like in Manual
Dynamic elevation-Displays altitude value at the map screen center. It is based on available online altitude public file sources.

It have worked for ca 3 years for me  but not today
http://oi67.tinypic.com/28whxcg.jpg
of course i have http://oi63.tinypic.com/2wbuyya.jpg


,Maybe it is in connection with  this Topic -http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=5459.0
( sometimes i have this Srtm  and Vector map directory  Errror  )- i dont think it is becouse of Sd Card or becouse of Phone - i have new Smartphone and new SD Card but error sometimes occurs. .
« Last Edit: December 10, 2016, 21:07:04 by locuscycling »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10209
  • Thanked: 83 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Dynamic elevation -problem
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2016, 08:50:45 »
Hello,
quite interesting. If SRTM data are available for map screen center location, it should work correctly. So suggest to check if you really have correct data. Easy method is for example long click on center cursor > "+" > fill elevation.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline freebird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
  • Device: Honor 7
Re: Dynamic elevation -problem
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2017, 11:22:11 »
I got the same problem - dynamic elevation disappears. Sometimes (now it works, but whole weekend in Tatras it didn't) it shows up, but usually, mostly when I need it most, it doesn't work. My friend has the same situation. Previously, like few months ago, it was always fine.
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10209
  • Thanked: 83 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Dynamic elevation -problem
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2017, 19:15:21 »
Good day freebird,

"Dynamic elevation" use offline HGT data ( then you saw elevation value in real-time ... immediately ) or use online web service ( then there is 2 seconds delay ). In second case, you of course need an internet connection.

How to receive offline data? http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:faq:how_to_add_map_shading
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!