Author Topic: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)  (Read 17079 times)

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10117
  • Thanked: 74 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #30 on: November 09, 2016, 21:31:51 »
hmm and we are talking about Locus Map Free installation right? Have to check it then, thanks
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Thanked: 51 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #31 on: November 10, 2016, 08:12:36 »
i didn´t know since when, but i didn´t get any notification (FREE and PRO) from auto backup anymore
Locus PRO 3.25.1
 

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 391
  • Thanked: 17 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #32 on: November 10, 2016, 10:51:15 »
OS Street View is still categorised wrongly as "OSM Other" in the list of online maps. It ought to be "Ordnance Survey". Possibly confusing, but nothing to do with OSM.
Previous post: http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=5199.msg45169.msg#45169
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10117
  • Thanked: 74 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #33 on: November 10, 2016, 11:02:03 »
@gynta: hmm I was not watching this too carefully. Because this "news list" is just a simple rss reader, there are no ID of topis. So Locus keep information if topic was read or now, just by using it's title! And maybe Michal changed title of some topics, which made them "unread" for all users? Hmm ... I'll change this system to next version to be more robust, thanks! Expect that all topics will be "unread" in next version ... for the last time I hope :).

@balloni55: for you, auto-backup stopped work at all? Seems another topic that needs more time invest. I wasn't ever 100% satisfied with it ...

@john_percy : hmm and I thought, I've already fixed it, thanks
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 391
  • Thanked: 17 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #34 on: November 10, 2016, 11:19:06 »
@menion: fixed in Store but not in Map Manager.
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Thanked: 51 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #35 on: November 10, 2016, 12:35:57 »
Quote
auto-backup stopped work at all?
no, autobackup work with FREE and PRO, i get no notification althought it is selected in backup dialog

BTW, where is my post :o
Code: [Select]
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+) by balloni55 (Versions)
    Today at 08:12:36
Locus PRO 3.25.1
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Thanked: 51 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #36 on: November 10, 2016, 13:40:58 »
on track overview i see some tracks with "strange" info, whats that?


V 3.20.1.1
if dots between words are missing, i get unintelligibly info

Locus PRO 3.25.1
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10117
  • Thanked: 74 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #37 on: November 10, 2016, 13:54:29 »
Weird with backup, because as I see in code, there is still exactly same system. Even a quick check seems to work correctly. I'll be watching it ... EDIT: sorry, I've got it ... thanks!

About "strange info" ... you ask me? :). It has to be some description in track itself, probably caused by import?

Problem with input of w3w ... hmm, I'll improve it little bit, thanks
« Last Edit: November 10, 2016, 13:58:32 by menion »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Thanked: 51 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #38 on: November 10, 2016, 14:24:00 »
Quote
It has to be some description in track itself, probably caused by import?
thats it ;)
i´ve importet some track.kmz where this infos are insert, sorry
Locus PRO 3.25.1
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3520
  • Thanked: 25 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SGS5m (4.4.2 root), SGTab10.1 (4.0.4)
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #39 on: November 10, 2016, 15:05:38 »
BTW, where is my post :o
Code: [Select]
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+) by balloni55 (Versions)
    Today at 08:12:36

??
here:
http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=5430.msg45716#msg45716

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2000
  • Thanked: 51 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01, SGS2 CM14 7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #40 on: November 10, 2016, 16:06:28 »
Quote
??
here:
http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=5430.msg45716#msg45716
my post 8:12 was between yours # 29 from last night and Johns # 30 today at10:51
menions give me answer #31
i see my activity on main page "Infocenter/Recent Posts"
Locus PRO 3.25.1
 

Offline 0709

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanked: 12 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: GT-I8160 CM11 SM-T235 4.4.2 THL4000 4.4.2
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #41 on: November 10, 2016, 22:13:26 »
An old item....how to make gesture control more reliable.
Triggered by new report in Idea:
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/add-power-off-button-on-screen#comment-34508

On desk I know how to generate succesfull gesture control by single wave.
Not using double wave control, as is even more “time” critical.
During usage I found out with a hard working phone by Navigation, POI trigger, and accurate (every sec) trackrecords, even one wave timing becomes uncomfortably critical for succesfull screen on/off actions. 
Same tests by DTSO app (one wave) delivers more stable usage experiences during real usage.

By on desk tests I monitored the differences by both apps using single wave !
Locus Gesture Control:  https://youtu.be/4LW5M0U-gPU
DTSO Gesture Control:  https://youtu.be/eCL_sx1qPJU

- Locus wants a “ single wave” action in an expected critical timespan.
- DTSO just expects simple sensor detection without critical wave timing.
Another functional description: A "One sensor touch" without "wave" obligation
Clear ? Have a look at both video's and detect the difference !

In real use, DTSO one wave action clearly outperforms Locus. So may I suggest to have another look to improve the Locus single wave screen on/off method.

DTSO also has another nice feature: Control by flip cover.
Prevents unexpected screen on with a phone in a pocket while used for navigated walking.
It should be nice if Locus also added this uncritical functionality .
If some positive response here, to be launched in help desk New Idea !

« Last Edit: November 11, 2016, 12:35:52 by 0709 »
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 370
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #42 on: November 10, 2016, 22:46:23 »
An old item....how to make gesture control more reliable.
Triggered by new report in Idea:
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/add-power-off-button-on-screen#comment-34508

On desk I know how to generate succesfull gesture control by single wave.
Not using double wave control, as is even more “time” critical.
When last discussed (a year ago?) I spent ages trying to get gesture control working. The Sony Xperia Z1 IR sensor was working fine with simple diagnostic app, so clearly hardware is OK and sensitive enough, but Locus was always totally unreliable so I just gave up. Would be happy if this could be made useful with single wave action, because manual turning on power button with glove while cycling is problematic.
Sony Z1, Samsung Galaxy Note 8
 

Offline 0709

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanked: 12 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: GT-I8160 CM11 SM-T235 4.4.2 THL4000 4.4.2
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #43 on: November 11, 2016, 08:59:57 »
Hi Andrew, to say for me it works (Locus), but as reported above with a hardworking (all features in use) Locus/phone in real usage, the gesture action succes is not always 100% succesfull.
The distance sensitivity of the THL sensor is in the low (cm) range, when using a white reflector max about 2 cm.  The Samsung has a more sensitive sensor = even has + 5 cm detection.
Wearing gloves, not waving with the black handpalm, but using the safety reflective area on top of the glove. Especially in such operating conditions sometimes a wave is not succesfully detected and has to be repeated.
 

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 391
  • Thanked: 17 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: [APP] - version 3.20.x (31. 10. 2016+)
« Reply #44 on: November 11, 2016, 12:35:41 »
With the present user interface, changing overlays is rather complicated. The current overlay has to be removed with the "Remove" button , then a new one has to be selected with the "Select" button. As the overlay can be simply switched on and off, either with the eye icon on the map Layers slide-out menu or the switch on the Map Overlays pop-up screen, the "Remove" button is someone superfluous. I suggest either (a) click on the overlay name to change to a different overlay or (b) change the "Remove" button to "Change overlay" button. That reduces clicks by one.
 
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold