Author Topic: Server problem for LoMaps...?  (Read 972 times)

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xiaomi RedMi Note3
Server problem for LoMaps...?
« on: August 16, 2016, 14:25:04 »
I could not ask Locus Maps to compute a navigaion for me in offline mode, this morning.
I have this reply  message:

Unable to resolve host
"http://www.yournavigation.org/"
No adress associated with hostname.
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 368
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Sony Xperia M DUAL / LocusMap Pro / A4.3
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2016, 16:54:05 »
It is not problems of servers for LoMaps.
It is problems of the 3rd party servers, providing online routing service YOURS, alternative to e.g. Map|Quest.
Or, it is  a general networking problem of DNS service, resolving domain addresses to IP addresses.

But, as I have checked it now, the address does work, so it was probably a temporary problem.
https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki
When users dig them up from GitHub repositories,
they will be hopefully wrapped in some GitHub wiki knowledge....  :-)
 

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xiaomi RedMi Note3
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2016, 16:14:53 »
Thank you :)
So I shall retry soon...
 

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xiaomi RedMi Note3
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2016, 19:12:02 »
Retried sometimes, but I cannot make any routing when off-line with LocusMapPro + LoMaps.
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 368
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Sony Xperia M DUAL / LocusMap Pro / A4.3
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2016, 19:33:50 »
Hmm, and why do you think you should be able to do any Locus LoMaps routing when off-line ?

I originally missed the off-line mode in your  first post, thinking you had just troubles with online routing service.
In off-line mode you obviously cannot access any network servers.

Do you have installed and properly configured any 3rd party off-line router, like BRouter or GraphHopper ?

As Locus does not have any off-line routing capabilities itself.
It does not have any own routing engine.
Additionally, used format of MapQuest vector map and Mapquest map manipulation libraries
do not allow using the LoMaps vector data for routing.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2016, 19:37:50 by poutnikl »
https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki
When users dig them up from GitHub repositories,
they will be hopefully wrapped in some GitHub wiki knowledge....  :-)
 
The following users thanked this post: sbouju

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xiaomi RedMi Note3
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2016, 19:43:57 »
OK, thank you, and really sorry: I understand now that I was trying something not possible...!
 

Offline michaelbechtold

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 434
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2016, 07:46:45 »
OK, thank you, and really sorry: I understand now that I was trying something not possible...!
As Poutnikl mentioned, there are options. I am using BRouter since long time and like it very much.

Gesendet von meinem LG-H850 mit Tapatalk

 
The following users thanked this post: sbouju

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xiaomi RedMi Note3
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2016, 08:05:33 »
Thank you too, Michael:) I shall have a second look to this BRouter, which has seemed to me not very (end-)user friendly first ;)
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 368
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Sony Xperia M DUAL / LocusMap Pro / A4.3
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2016, 08:20:24 »
If you consider just a car navigation/routing, evaluate also alternative GPS navigation software , dedicated to cars, having fully offline solution. E.g. MapsFactor Navigator.

For bike and foot naviagtion, BRouter as a 3rd party offline routing service can be better choice than online sources or general offline navigation software. As they often do not consider bicycle specifics, while BRouter does so a lot.
https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki
When users dig them up from GitHub repositories,
they will be hopefully wrapped in some GitHub wiki knowledge....  :-)
 

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xiaomi RedMi Note3
Re: Server problem for LoMaps...?
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2016, 08:39:37 »
Yes, I shall have a look to this BRouter, for my EUC offline navigation, even if the solution of just Locus and a good offline map is already fine ;)

When I am in car and offline, I usually use Sygic, already, and also Google Maps, since a short time... The offline option of Maps works only for car, at this time, if a navigation is needed. Sygic give also a navigation for pedestrian, being offline.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2016, 08:48:10 by sbouju »