Author Topic: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter  (Read 5456 times)

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2015, 16:49:15 »
From -> to works with BRouter using Locus navigation
From/to BRouter Quick points method does not work at all.


 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3522
  • Thanked: 28 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SGS5m (4.4.2 root), SGTab10.1 (4.0.4)
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2015, 17:30:22 »
From -> to works with BRouter using Locus navigation
And with "Add route & measure"?
(screenshots are looking good btw)

What of Android OS version do you use? 

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2015, 18:31:49 »
Route & measure works fine also (first time I ventured there).

Android version 5.1 on MotoG
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3522
  • Thanked: 28 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SGS5m (4.4.2 root), SGTab10.1 (4.0.4)
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #18 on: July 29, 2015, 18:57:25 »
resume:
Route & measure
Quick point "from -> to"  with Brouter works

Route & measure - Quick point  - "from -> via -> to" also?

and only Route & measure - Quick point  - "from -> via -> nogo50 (eg) -> to" make troubles??

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #19 on: July 29, 2015, 20:31:16 »
I'm getting confused now.

resume:
Route & measure
Quick point "from -> to"  with Brouter works
Using the add a point button in the bottom toolbar and using BRouter within Locus, yes. Not the "Quick point" (from/to) from the screenshots that we were discussing earlier and using BRouter app.
Route & measure - Quick point  - "from -> via -> to" also?
Using the add a point button from the bottom toolbar to produce a route and using BRouter within Locus, yes. But not the "Quick point" from the side bar. However that does mean I can define a series of any number of via points - good. BRouter produces good routes for walking or hiking.
and only Route & measure - Quick point  - "from -> via -> nogo50 (eg) -> to" make troubles??
Correct. I have no way of doing "nogo". BRouter doesn't seem to look in the right place for these
« Last Edit: July 29, 2015, 20:35:51 by john_percy »
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3522
  • Thanked: 28 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SGS5m (4.4.2 root), SGTab10.1 (4.0.4)
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #20 on: July 29, 2015, 21:00:34 »
i really hope you have patience on my pitiful attempts to help.
I'm sure it's easy - but not yet.

please try only a from - to (no "via" and "no "nogo")
with add quick point.

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #21 on: July 29, 2015, 21:31:21 »
i really hope you have patience on my pitiful attempts to help.
I'm sure it's easy - but not yet.

please try only a from - to (no "via" and "no "nogo")
with add quick point.
I am very grateful for your help.
I have tried a simple from and to using Quick Add Points and the BRouter app. It doesn't work for me. No points found.
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3522
  • Thanked: 28 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SGS5m (4.4.2 root), SGTab10.1 (4.0.4)
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #22 on: July 29, 2015, 21:48:04 »
from BRouter readme:
Quote
"Try to make sure your map-tool uses the same base directory, because BRouter tries to access the maptool's waypoint-database and tracks-directory, and this works only if they use either the same base directory or if the maptool uses the standard, internal base /mnt/sdcard."

should be eg
/mnt/sdcard/brouter
/mnt/sdcard/Locus



see attachments

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #23 on: July 29, 2015, 23:37:10 »
OK, this is where it was getting complicated but re-re-re-reading the two readmes has finally got me there!
For the sake of anyone else who might want to try this, these are the two extra steps I had to do.
Having set custom directories for Locus and having set Locus root to my secondary SD card, I had to
1. Edit storageconfig.txt in the brouter/segment3 folder to have the line:
additional_maptool_dir=/storage/sdcard1/Android/data/menion.android.locus.pro/files
(And then remember to remove the # at the start of that line). That's the value I had chosen for the Locus root directory

2. In /storage/sdcard1/Android/data/menion.android.locus.pro/files/Locus/mapItems, where BRouter attempts and fails to write a track (construct that location from the result in step 1) I had to create a text file named brouter.redirect with a single line that is the location where I wanted the track to be written, such as /storage/sdcard1/brouter (or in my case, /storage/sdcard1/LocusMaps/mapItems, which was the value I had set for my my custom writeable mapItems folder)
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3522
  • Thanked: 28 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SGS5m (4.4.2 root), SGTab10.1 (4.0.4)
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #24 on: July 29, 2015, 23:42:12 »
good old ics..

ok and finaly?

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #25 on: July 29, 2015, 23:51:27 »
Lollipop, actually.
Yes, finally got it working (well, still to ensure via and nogo works - tomorrow)
Many thanks for your help.
I really like the BRouter hiking routes which seem much better than GraphHopper. Doing it this way allows me to choose between different profiles, as well as having no go areas.

Edit: Now via and nogo Quick Add points work with the BRouter app method. And nogo works in both the Quick Navigation and the Add new route and measure methods, which I hadn't expected until I read right through the readme!.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2015, 10:04:00 by john_percy »
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 427
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #26 on: July 30, 2015, 00:14:33 »
I have added a new point on the map, where I don't want to go. I named this point "nogo50 test". Then I start navigation, but brouter routes me straight through this nogo point anyway. Why?
@fingret - BRouter expects the nogo point to be in format "nogo"<distance-metres> so your example "nogo50 test" will be ignored because " test" is invalid. Try "nogo50" to exclude 50 metres around the point. I use this Locus/ BRouter process with to/ from/ via/ nogo, and for longer distances find it far more powerful than the internal Locus mechanism.
Sony Z1, Samsung Galaxy Note 8
 

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #27 on: July 30, 2015, 09:44:52 »
Actually the syntax ought to be correct according to the BRouter readme:
Quote
So "nogo", "nogo1000", "nogo roadblock", "nogo200 badferry" are all validnames for nogo-waypoints.

Edit: I can confirm this syntax works for me with BRouter and Locus.
I have a Quick Point defined as "nogo50 point{c}" to generate numbered nogo points like "nogo50 point2" for the second 50m exclusion area (and also "via{c}" to produce points like "via2" for the second via point) and it works fine in all the various routing methods available in Locus with BRouter.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2015, 11:53:53 by john_percy »
 

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
  • Thanked: 23 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #28 on: July 31, 2015, 11:58:09 »
valid syntax of nogo area is
nogo[km] i.e. nogo100
Actually correct syntax is
nogo[m] [comment]
where [m] is distance in metres (default 20m) and [comment] is any free text. Both [m] and [comment] are optional.
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 427
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
Re: Nogo area, Locus with Brouter
« Reply #29 on: July 31, 2015, 14:23:35 »
Thanks for clarifying John. I don't know then why @fingret was having trouble.
Sony Z1, Samsung Galaxy Note 8