Author Topic: Live Tracking with new GPSies live tracking method?  (Read 2010 times)

Offline ringen00

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Live Tracking with new GPSies live tracking method?
« on: April 20, 2015, 21:15:09 »
Hi all!
Tried to make live tracking of locus work with the new method if live tracking with GPSies - no success so far.
Used everything that I found in Backitude/GPSies ....
Any ideas?
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 9914
  • Thanked: 51 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Live Tracking with new GPSies live tracking method?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2015, 22:36:01 »
Hmm I'm searching and searching and also no useful information. Both apps seems to be closed-source, so it is not possible to check where and which requests are send.

I'm sure, Locus should communicate with their server without a problems, it is just needed to know parameters. Emails from a few users to Klaus (developer of GPSies) and I'm sure he will reveal his secrets :).
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline ringen00

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Live Tracking with new GPSies live tracking method?
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2015, 12:37:03 »
He already answered!
Thanks for your quick response!
Said that was was missing - let's see....

edit
Here are Klaus' 'secrets'.
Unfortunately it doesn't work so far! Maybe you could test it too...
Seems like locus isn't uploading...
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 15:15:11 by gynta »
 

Offline ohgood

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: Live Tracking with new GPSies live tracking method?
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2015, 03:00:00 »
He already answered!
Thanks for your quick response!
Said that was was missing - let's see....

edit
Here are Klaus' 'secrets'.
Unfortunately it doesn't work so far! Maybe you could test it too...
Seems like locus isn't uploading...
i love gpsies for storing/sharing tracks, and planning routes, it's good stuff. if/when live tracking works with locus i think that would be a great website to collaborate with for the future.

:)
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 9914
  • Thanked: 51 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Live Tracking with new GPSies live tracking method?
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2015, 15:37:36 »
fine, do not know if problem was in your settings or in Locus (because I just changed part that handle http requests), but seems to work now

http://www.gpsies.com/liveTracking.do?username=menion

Parameters are all here http://www.gpsies.com/liveTracking.do?showAll=true , on a right side of screen
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline ringen00

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Live Tracking with new GPSies live tracking method?
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2015, 16:39:06 »
To me it seems like locus has problems uploading! It produces a lot of points but rarely sends one 327/0. If it sends one I get the beep signal for unsuccessful...

edit 16:45:19
It works for me now!!!
My mistake was probably instead of requestTimestamp only requestTime.
Posting the URL made that clear! Thanks!!! :-)

edit 17:07:48
I still wonder that sometimes there is no map! Probably my interval of 60 seconds is too low? I'll try moving now :-)

edit 17:10:20
Or locus has problems when switching from data to WLAN?

edit 17:25:56
Blue instead of map seems to be a browser refresh problem....
Working now :-)

edit 17:34:20
Now I'm curious if accuracy gets displayed too - my experience: no!

edit 18:17:00
Klaus says it is the size of the circle.
How can I avoid that GPS gets turned if while live tracking (and not recording)?

Thanks gynta I got it :-)
« Last Edit: April 23, 2015, 18:51:41 by ringen00 »
 

Offline Tim Finnegan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Live Tracking with new GPSies live tracking method?
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2015, 22:59:24 »
Still cannot make live tracking (gpsies) work :ะพ(
All parameters (username, pin, latitude, longitude, requestTimestamp) set as shown on gpsies site.
What method - post or get?
trying to post URL  - realise  that first parameter (username) must begin with "?"
URL must be as http://www.gpsies.com/liveTracking.do?username=timfinnegan&pin=XXX&latitude=XX.XXXXX&longitude=XX.XXXXX&requestTimestamp=XXXXXXXX
may be this is the key?

PS Got it! url is case sensitive  - liveTracking.do !
« Last Edit: May 09, 2015, 23:04:38 by Tim Finnegan »