Author Topic: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation  (Read 52078 times)

Offline poutnikl

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 358
  • Thanked: 22 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Sony Xperia M DUAL / LocusMap Pro / A4.3
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #165 on: November 13, 2015, 07:04:18 »
Interesting is this note on GraphHopper Github page,
what means similar limitations for proper car navigation, as Brouter admits:

"Please note that currently none of the vehicles accounts for turn restrictions."

https://github.com/graphhopper/directions-api/blob/master/supported-vehicle-profiles.md
« Last Edit: November 13, 2015, 07:23:25 by poutnikl »
https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki
Direct links to the profiles are removed.
When users dig them up from GitHub repositories, they will be hopefully wrapped in some GitHub wiki knowledge....  :-)
 

Offline john_percy

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 384
  • Thanked: 16 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #166 on: November 13, 2015, 08:32:15 »
That refers to the GraphHopper Maps web engine which runs in speed-up mode.
GraphHopper itself includes the possibility of turn costs and turn restrictions but requires turn costs to be turned on:
Quote
The turn restriction (also turn cost) feature is currently not implemented for the speed-up-mode, and this speed-up-mode is used in GraphHopper Maps. But you can enable the flexibility mode in the config.properties and it will work
In the graphs I use which I prepare using Atlas, turn costs are on for car routes and off for bike or foot. As far as I can tell, the same is true for the graphs menion has prepared and made available (though I only checked Gibraltar).
 
 

Offline silvermapper

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 56
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G 4G
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #167 on: November 13, 2015, 10:58:09 »
menion
I thank you for providing the new generator so quickly in response to my request.  I look forward to the same success I had with version 0.1.7 when I try it.  With reference to your comment 'Anyway suggest to read "how to" on pages of graphhopper', I executed that particular process with much patient assistance from karussell here: https://discuss.graphhopper.com/t/graphhopper-locus-map-add-on/207/8 but as I wrote there, the resulting .osm-gh file was not liked by Locus Map.  The one produced using your generator was liked, however, to my immense satisfaction.
 

Offline Marcus Aurelius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
  • Device: Sony Xperia M2 Aqua
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #168 on: December 07, 2015, 08:27:30 »
Graphhopper works fine, changed to it from Brouter to it, and I see that the routes are more convenient to my own experience...
But I do have a problem now. Lately I noticed a problem with Locus. When I shut off the smartphone, and I go into Locus, Locus does not find the vectormaps, directory. So no maps. Setting up the standard vector maps again, Problem solved. Setting Brouter later on, and setting Graphhopper again, and I get the message 'no data found' ... Playing a bit with the standard directory settings again, and okay ... it works again, Dont know if it's a graphhopper or locus problem in general or smartphone or SDcard..... Experience ?
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 358
  • Thanked: 22 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Sony Xperia M DUAL / LocusMap Pro / A4.3
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #169 on: December 07, 2015, 10:39:20 »
Graphhopper works fine, changed to it from Brouter to it, and I see that the routes are more convenient to my own experience...

GraphHopper is for obvious reasons the preferred option for offline car navigation.

For bike and cars, you have just experienced Brouter profiles that do not suits you. As Brouter route quality raises and falls with level of matching the profile to user preferences. And that is the reason why for many users is Graphhopper better=easier solution.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2015, 12:21:05 by poutnikl »
https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki
Direct links to the profiles are removed.
When users dig them up from GitHub repositories, they will be hopefully wrapped in some GitHub wiki knowledge....  :-)
 

Offline silvermapper

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 56
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G 4G
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #170 on: December 16, 2015, 13:10:37 »
I wish to create GraphHopper routing data updates frequently to reflect my recent OSM input and assist me in checking further OSM paths and their attributes in my area.  I downloaded GH addon 0.2 - based v0.5.apk and associated routing data following menion's announcement in Reply #150.  My Reply #151 confirmed everything worked.
I have tried two methods to create routing data that Locus Map will accept.  Both failed.

1. menion's generator:  I downloaded graphHopper.zip and extracted it; downloaded an england.osm.pbf file to the same location as graphhopper.sh and ran the command in Cygwin.  Here is the result:
Bob@Dellcomputer /cygdrive/c/users/bob/downloads/graphhopper/data/version_0.2.0/graphhopper/graphhopper
$ export JAVA_OPTS="-Xmx1g -Xms1g"
Bob@Dellcomputer /cygdrive/c/users/bob/downloads/graphhopper/data/version_0.2.0/graphhopper/graphhopper
$ ./graphhopper.sh import england-20151215.osm.pbf
./graphhopper.sh: line 2: $'\r': command not found
./graphhopper.sh: line 25: syntax error near unexpected token `$'{\r''
'/graphhopper.sh: line 25: `function printUsage {
I note some files are named differently and the file content is different between version 0.1.7 and 0.2.0, as can be seen in my two attachments (in case this is relevant)

2. GraphHopper Quickstart: I ran this as laid out here: https://github.com/graphhopper/graphhopper/blob/master/docs/web/quickstart.md.  The operation completed as it should with the final statement, "Started server at HTTP 8989" and a *.osm-gh folder with its content was created.  I placed the folder in Locus>mapsVector and selected it in Locus Map - add-on GraphHopper.  I opened Locus Map and tapped the 'Navigate' tab but received the message, "Unfortunately, Locus Pro has stopped" after the 'SELECT LOCATION' box appeared very briefly.
I note some files are different and file sizes of what I created here are significantly smaller compared with the 'england.osm-gh' I downloaded from menion's site, as can be seen in my two attachments (in case this is relevant).

I am not clever enough to pursue this issue and should be grateful if someone could take me forward.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2015, 13:15:03 by silvermapper »
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #171 on: December 16, 2015, 14:18:00 »
ad 1): Sounds like graphhopper.sh contains carriage return characteers (\r). This could be the result of editing this file with a windows editor.
 

Offline voldapet

  • Administrator
  • Padavan of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #172 on: December 16, 2015, 17:53:54 »
@silvermapper
As tommi wrote the first issue is very likely caused due to wrong character in sh script. There is for example more information: https://danieladeniji.wordpress.com/2013/03/07/microsoft-windows-cygwin-error-r-command-not-found/

To your second question: have you really used the latest graphHopper.zip package for generation the routing data?
 

Offline silvermapper

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 56
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G 4G
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #173 on: December 16, 2015, 18:23:51 »
tommi
I compared the text of the graphhopper.sh file in menion's versions 0.1.7 and 0.2.0.  It was continuous in 0.1.7 but separated into lines in 0.2.0 which confirms what you wrote, perhaps.  I could not see significant differences in the text content, however.  I decided to use graphhopper.sh version 0.1.7 file in place of graphhopper.sh in version 0.2.0, everything else being 0.2.0.  It is successful, so far as I can tell.  The command ran to completion and created a new *.osm-gh file that is accepted by Locus Map.
I thank you for helping me to progress to a solution.
petr
I used graphhopper-web-0.5.0-bin.zip from https://oss.sonatype.org/content/groups/public/com/graphhopper/graphhopper-web/0.5.0/.
Even though I appear to have had success using menion's 0.2.0 generator from what I wrote above, I should like to make this method work, also.
I thank you for your interest and hope you can help further.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2015, 18:26:26 by silvermapper »
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 358
  • Thanked: 22 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Sony Xperia M DUAL / LocusMap Pro / A4.3
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #174 on: December 16, 2015, 22:25:45 »
ad 1): Sounds like graphhopper.sh contains carriage return characteers (\r). This could be the result of editing this file with a windows editor.
Or rather being saved with Windows line breaks,
as good Windows editors support Windows, UNIX  or even ( said old ) Mac way of line breaks,  like e.g. Notepad++.
https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki
Direct links to the profiles are removed.
When users dig them up from GitHub repositories, they will be hopefully wrapped in some GitHub wiki knowledge....  :-)
 

Offline silvermapper

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 56
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G 4G
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #175 on: December 17, 2015, 13:00:20 »
petr
I referred to the link you kindly provided regarding the structure of the graphhopper.sh file.  I downloaded Notepad++ and carried out the instructions in the link.  It worked!  Furthermore, with the aid of the Compare plugin, I was able to determine there was very little difference between the 0.1.7 and 0.2.0 graphhopper.sh files.
I thank you, and post this reply for the further reason it might be of use to others.
Bob
 

Offline voldapet

  • Administrator
  • Padavan of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #176 on: December 17, 2015, 13:44:20 »
Great, thank you for feedback.
I guess that graphhopper 0.5.0 you have downloaded is the correct. However I suggest to use combination of plugin and generator that is available at https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B7v_sPhHE6RgOUtXajZHVk9BSVU&usp=sharing&tid=0B7v_sPhHE6RgfjJZbEtsS1VnSWRMTDZUZGw3TlN4WTZLMHVUbTUtUGwtVUFvVlFVWlN6MDA
 

Offline Haggi

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Note 3
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #177 on: February 16, 2016, 12:41:46 »
Spotted this: -May be in near future we’ll see much more… when is near future and what are we gonna see?  ;D

Ref: http://www.locusmap.eu/locus-map-can-navigate-offline/
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #178 on: February 16, 2016, 22:09:00 »
@Locus-Team: GraphHopper 0.6.0 was released some days ago. Could we get an update of the Locus plugin?
 

Offline devo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung S5 Cyanogenmod 13
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #179 on: February 17, 2016, 16:21:20 »
Im trying to get Graphhopper working... on Android 5 it works fine.
On Samsung S5 Android 6 (cyanogenmod 13) I get an error: No Content... But Graphhopper data to Storage... (see screenshot)
. .

Any Idea???
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 14:23:18 by gynta »