Author Topic: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations  (Read 23773 times)

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10835
  • Thanked: 184 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #75 on: July 09, 2013, 16:24:14 »
nono I completely forget on this topic, so in current or previous test versions are same problems also
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1211
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #76 on: August 03, 2013, 15:27:27 »
Hi Menion,
this problem doesn't seems to be fixed:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=2916&hilit=pressure&start=60#p22008
I had the same problem today with 2.14.0.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10835
  • Thanked: 184 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #77 on: August 03, 2013, 17:26:43 »
yes I know, I wasn't able to find simple solution yet, even I spend already few hours on it. To avoid this, best is to enable GPS in locus before you start track record. This few seconds save these problems.

Only solution I have in mind is in this case, wait a few (+- 5) seconds till recording really start. But it's not best, because you expect to record just from time, you tap the button ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1211
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #78 on: August 03, 2013, 19:11:26 »
Quote from: "menion"
yes I know, I wasn't able to find simple solution yet, even I spend already few hours on it. To avoid this, best is to enable GPS in locus before you start track record. This few seconds save these problems.

Only solution I have in mind is in this case, wait a few (+- 5) seconds till recording really start. But it's not best, because you expect to record just from time, you tap the button ...
Yep, of course I'd like to see it records correctly from button press on. I could live with the problem at the start but the problem also occurs if you paused recording and GPS is disabled during the pause.
Interesting is that this problem did not occur until spring this year.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10835
  • Thanked: 184 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #79 on: August 04, 2013, 12:17:01 »
you know, improved more specific algorithm brings this mess ... anyway I probably found a problem and a small solution.

Seems that problem occur only if you have enabled "Automatic calibration" right? If so, then it should be fixed in next version. Also be sure you have HGT files for area where you record your tracks, because these files also here helps a lot with calibration (they're used instead of GPS altitude if available)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1211
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #80 on: August 04, 2013, 12:24:57 »
Quote from: "menion"
you know, improved more specific algorithm brings this mess ... anyway I probably found a problem and a small solution.

Seems that problem occur only if you have enabled "Automatic calibration" right? If so, then it should be fixed in next version. Also be sure you have HGT files for area where you record your tracks, because these files also here helps a lot with calibration (they're used instead of GPS altitude if available)
Yes, I use automatic calibration of pressure sensor as I'm one of the lucky guys who has a working pressure sensor in the phone. Automatic calibration is a great feature because all the nasty handling with calibration needs not to be done by the user but is done by Locus. And of course, I have hgt files available for the area.
Thanks, and I will test with next version (already in the next version I'll likely get for the problem with dashboard?)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10835
  • Thanked: 184 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #81 on: August 04, 2013, 12:32:43 »
I was already working on dashboard, but it's story to another topic. I don't want to send you a new version with just one fixed problem, so I'll fix them more then publish a version ;)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1211
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #82 on: August 06, 2013, 21:20:44 »
Ok, I see the behaviour of automatic calibration and first recorded point(s?) has changed. Instead of +50m wrong altitude it's now about -25m wrong.
But the glitch after pausing the recording seems to be fixed.
Are these the expected results (maybe my settings are a bit different after having setup my phone newly? (the fixed problem after pause is definitely an improvement).
Thanks,
Tommi
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 10835
  • Thanked: 184 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #83 on: August 06, 2013, 21:56:34 »
good to hear. I'm not sure I'll have time to go out to test it till release so thanks a lot for your help
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline pourquoi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #84 on: September 10, 2018, 22:14:13 »
Is there a way to show the dynamic elevation or altitude calculated in real time?
I don’t want to only be recorded, but I also want it to see it in real time when I need it.
Ideally, it doesn’t have to be the downloaded extraction (http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:user_guide:maps_settings), but the real calculated one from GPS data and barometer.
It would be nice to have it added in conjunction with the GPS data on the top of the screen, not in the screen centre.
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 549
  • Thanked: 17 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #85 on: September 10, 2018, 23:59:05 »
Have a look into =dashboard]dashboards. It may be what you are wanting.
 

Offline pourquoi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Altitude (from GPS) optimizations
« Reply #86 on: September 11, 2018, 19:49:41 »
Thanks Andrew! It’s adaptable to what I need.