Thank You! An Unusual Application With Wonderful Results

Started by Bob Denny, November 24, 2012, 01:44:22

Bob Denny

I have been working with Locus Pro on the Google Nexus 7 for about a month. I am a helicopter Tactical Flight Officer for a large public safety agency in the Southwestern United States. My job consists of providing street and trail level navigation for the pilot, operating the airborne imaging system and the spotlight, and communicating with the ground personnel. The pilot flies the helicopter and talks with air traffic control. Our first line Bell 407 helicopter has a very expensive airborne street level mapping and navigation system, however it does not provide useful information about trails, topography, US Forest Service and BLM roads, etc. We also have two military surplus OH-58 helicopters and these have no mapping systems at all. Our calls are often for urgent situations, and finding our citizens in need is a critical task. Also, the cockpit of the helicopter is a tight area. There are two hand controls: a "stick" (the cyclic) and a "bar" on the left side (the collective). It is difficult to manage paper maps of trails and back-country roads, especially with the doors off traveling at 80+ knots.