Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - lor74cas

Pages: [1]
1
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: September 25, 2018, 19:57:49 »
3.33.0 RC1 Livetracking one touch to start to have a crash

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk
Fixed

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: menion

2
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: August 06, 2018, 07:30:32 »
Not a bug report just for information about power saving mode of my device.
Today I tested the battery saving mode on the a5 2017 Samsung
@lor74cas - thanks for report - I have just bought this phone so am hoping no power saving problems with Locus.
I note has inbuilt barometer - do you find the ascent measurement more accurate than a phone without inbuilt barometer?
I use light filter in combination with automatic gps calibration with good results. I also use hgt files with 1 arc accuracy.

Compared to the old s5 mini it's really more accurate, but elevation seem to not be exact science: every device, every app can give you different values, now I'm happy to have values near to what expected when planning my trips.

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

3
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: August 05, 2018, 21:44:36 »
Not a bug report just for information about power saving mode of my device.
Today I tested the battery saving mode on the a5 2017 Samsung.  Mid power saving mode with locus excluded from it I recorded a track.
Locus was working correctly but it did not had any response from gps, I could fix a point only when watching the map so not in background. I disabled power savings without stopping the recording and all went ok.
 
I think in this mid power saving mode only the foreground app have access to gps.
Now I know it I will not use it anymore.
Power saving not Locus

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

4
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.31.+ ( 4. 6. 2018 )
« on: July 05, 2018, 20:47:28 »
Can anyone try Betu on Android 4.2? He can not run on my phone.
From the release notes: no more support for 4.0.3 and 4.0.4
No more support for Geocaching since 4.4.0
I 4.2 is in the middle I can not help you I have only devices from 6 to 8 now.

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Žajdlík Josef

5
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.31.+ ( 4. 6. 2018 )
« on: June 04, 2018, 22:46:59 »



@lor74cas
nono keep action as "com.asamm.locus.ACTION_TASK".
I was talking about another parameter that may be defined in tasker called "Package". This parameter define, which application should handle this intent.


Found it and it works now with Pro.
If you like it, I'll post the scripts (pro and free) on http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/auto-pause-while-connected-to-my-car-via-bluetooth

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: freischneider

6
Discussion/New features / Re: Locus - Live tracking service
« on: April 17, 2018, 09:45:53 »
Hi every body,
Is there another topic about recent and new Locus Map live tracking abilities, as it seems to me that this has happended...?  :)
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/snail-trail-for-live-tracking
The following users thanked this post: sbouju

7
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« on: March 31, 2018, 11:26:00 »
I tested the new gps in locus.
The track recorded with locus is now the same recorded with my Garmin forerunner 235. In the image the green and blue lines.
This is a perfect test for gps good weather and no mountains or other obstacles I hope to try it soon in more difficult conditions.
Good job

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: menion

8
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« on: October 11, 2017, 14:37:39 »
I report here a comment in received in PM because the tread was just closed:
Hi unfortunately I cannot reply in that thread where you write about route planning. There is no reply button for me.

Exactly my experience. I think very often when dragging the map it happens that it adds a new point or moves existing ones. Not sure. Seems like as if my finger loses connection to the touch screen of my sony z1 for a millisecond. I prefer brouter planning on PC because on Locus it is not fun.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

9
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.25.+ ( 9. 8. 2017 )
« on: October 06, 2017, 17:07:35 »
Quite surprising @lor74cas. I'm from time to time test Locus Map on older SGS2!! so did it now just for sure and all is absolutely fluent and perfectly working ( Route planner ). So personally do not see big problem here. I'm aware that problem may comes on new but less powerful phones.
I'm anyway sorry, for now dragging is a core feature and definitely can't be simply disabled. We may think about some "planning without dragging mode", enabled over settings, that should allow to control these points over "edit" button and disable also drag feature. For this, I'll anyway need topic on help desk & few more votes to be sure, it's not just a "one-men problem". Thanks for understanding.
Btw. suggest to improve app performance little bit: http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:faq:locus_performance , it should help here!
Don't worry about it I just reported my troubles in drag experience, you created the undo feature so I can always correct errors.
I agree, Let's wait the response when the beta will become main version from help desk.

Inviato dal mio SM-G800F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: tapio

10
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.25.+ ( 9. 8. 2017 )
« on: October 06, 2017, 07:26:25 »
Route planner


dragging the points often is very difficult, sometimes dragging occurs when unwanted. More usable is moving the points by modify menu and using pick on the map.
For me dragging is not convenient and produces more errors than results.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

11
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.25.+ ( 9. 8. 2017 )
« on: October 05, 2017, 12:38:55 »
hello, my name is shara, i'm italian girl and sorry for my language  ;-)
I have install first time locus for a week
i have nexus 5x and android 8 Oreo
pc windows 8.1
my question's:
1) to know my version where I have to look?

2) one problem is share track, but I saw that it was solved with new version..good
but i have another problem: if I save the track (example in the export folder...), if i connect the nexus of the Pc
in the Locus/export folder I can not find the gpx file...I have to restart nexus, for find the file..
(is the problem locus? or android, nexus, pc..?

3) the version in this post is beta...where then I find the  stable version ?
 and for update version, first best to uninstall actual version? but the folder locus/map are you lost?
(i have several maps GB in this folder..)

thanks shara
Answered in PM in Italian
The following users thanked this post: menion

12
Troubles & Questions / Re: Elevation gain
« on: November 21, 2016, 18:13:32 »
For global info: http://www.locusmap.eu/everything-you-always-wanted-to-know-about-elevation-in-locus-but-were-afraid-to-ask/

I do not have a pressure sensor so when I found that altitude data of the recorded track with just gps are crazy I tried to solve.

First you need a good accuracy of recorded track points:
settings -> track rec -> choose your profile settings --> requested accuracy set a strict value (for me 30mt)

Second you can have better SRTM values using HGT files with 1" arc insted of 3"
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/hgt-elevation-data-display-if-both-1%E2%80%9D-and-3%E2%80%9D-resolution-hgt-files-are-present-in-the-srtm-directory
http://www.viewfinderpanoramas.org/Coverage%20map%20viewfinderpanoramas_org1.htm
http://www.viewfinderpanoramas.org/dem3.html

and if you want a costant application of srtm data and bypass the "fill data.." after track recorded use this:
in settings -> gps and position -> altitude manager -> settings -> srtm data -> replace gps values

Does this stuff you are telling me apply to me since I have a baro sensor or just to someone who is using a device WITHOUT a baro sensor? I hate to just start changing values i do not understand if it is going to make it worse for my particular phone. With a baro sensor do I still want to bypass the fill data and replace gps track values or is this just what you did because of the device you were using with no baro sensor?

You started this topic with a question about elevation gain, not about pressure sensor settings, after some posts we now know that your device has the pressure sensor.
Before this we also talk about SRTM.
If someone else in future will read this topic will find something usefull about elevation gain becouse the post title is ELEVATION GAIN.

If you wonder if "this stuff" is about pressure sensor, read carefully what I wrote "I do not have a pressure sensor", nothing in my post is about pressure sensor.

And if you "hate to just start changing values i do not understand ..." you can start study how things work, you didn't know to use side panel, you didn't know that "Elevation gain = elevation (uphill)" now you know becouse someone used his time to answer you even if this things are explained in the documentation and in other posts.

Now I can answer your questions:
1) No
2) This is just what I do because my device has no pressure sensor.

P.S.
Strava does not have the truth, no software and no device has the truth.
Put the same track gpx file into 3 different account with different algorithms you'll obtain 3 different altitude gain.
I use Locus on two phones (no baro) and a garmin forerunner and you'll see that the 3 tracks have differences not only about the altitude gain.
I agree with michaelbechtold "Elevation collected from GPS in mobile devices is like rolling the dice around the true curve."
So you need to study wich way is better for you/your device/your habits/place of use.

Regards
The following users thanked this post: menion

13
Troubles & Questions / Re: Elevation gain
« on: November 21, 2016, 12:43:28 »
For global info: http://www.locusmap.eu/everything-you-always-wanted-to-know-about-elevation-in-locus-but-were-afraid-to-ask/

I do not have a pressure sensor so when I found that altitude data of the recorded track with just gps are crazy I tried to solve.

First you need a good accuracy of recorded track points:
settings -> track rec -> choose your profile settings --> requested accuracy set a strict value (for me 30mt)

Second you can have better SRTM values using HGT files with 1" arc insted of 3"
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/hgt-elevation-data-display-if-both-1%E2%80%9D-and-3%E2%80%9D-resolution-hgt-files-are-present-in-the-srtm-directory
http://www.viewfinderpanoramas.org/Coverage%20map%20viewfinderpanoramas_org1.htm
http://www.viewfinderpanoramas.org/dem3.html

and if you want a costant application of srtm data and bypass the "fill data.." after track recorded use this:
in settings -> gps and position -> altitude manager -> settings -> srtm data -> replace gps values




The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

Pages: [1]