Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Andrew Heard

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
1
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: September 24, 2018, 09:37:04 »
Thanks guys ... new BETA RC2, give it a try.

And Andrew ... special, maybe Dashboard, do not exactly know, but I believe it will work now :).
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

2
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: September 18, 2018, 09:05:55 »
@Andrew Heard
ah, here comes confusion. The red circle isn't clickable! It allows to drag & drop to create a new shaping point, but click do nothing! What happens to you is that click on this point, selected nearest trackpoint on track, so you had feel like you click on track.
I've anyway improved this now, and this red circle now offer information about this track segment with an option to recalculate it.

Problem with backup: hmm crash needs logs. Anyway problem with restoring, hard to say. App should check if config.cfg was changed and use it or overwrite based on this.

@freischneider
understand your point with dragging of trackpoints, but I still do nothe t like it. On smaller screen, you often drag map with fingers and with this feature, you will have to worry even more to not to drag part of existing route. Use long click > it's even faster (mainly with new Beta version).

@tapio
export me please your track to GPX, I'll check why this happen, thanks.

@alezy
thanks, should be fixed now. New Beta? Most probably today.

EDIT: Beta version is out!
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

3
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: September 07, 2018, 22:41:45 »
Conversion of the route works well. But I use modified profiles with my own names. However, these names will not appear in the recalculation, instead of the original name. It's just a little thing.





The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

4
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: September 07, 2018, 22:35:51 »
Beta version 3.32.2.5:
Tested with SGS8 (Android 8.0.0) and HTC One S (Android 4.1.1)
It's great! Is it possible to change the name into the selfmaked profilname?


The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

5
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: August 06, 2018, 07:30:32 »
Not a bug report just for information about power saving mode of my device.
Today I tested the battery saving mode on the a5 2017 Samsung
@lor74cas - thanks for report - I have just bought this phone so am hoping no power saving problems with Locus.
I note has inbuilt barometer - do you find the ascent measurement more accurate than a phone without inbuilt barometer?
I use light filter in combination with automatic gps calibration with good results. I also use hgt files with 1 arc accuracy.

Compared to the old s5 mini it's really more accurate, but elevation seem to not be exact science: every device, every app can give you different values, now I'm happy to have values near to what expected when planning my trips.

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

6
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: August 05, 2018, 21:44:36 »
Not a bug report just for information about power saving mode of my device.
Today I tested the battery saving mode on the a5 2017 Samsung.  Mid power saving mode with locus excluded from it I recorded a track.
Locus was working correctly but it did not had any response from gps, I could fix a point only when watching the map so not in background. I disabled power savings without stopping the recording and all went ok.
 
I think in this mid power saving mode only the foreground app have access to gps.
Now I know it I will not use it anymore.
Power saving not Locus

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

7
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: August 02, 2018, 17:43:22 »
This year, I have feeling that I only solve problems, interesting and little frustrating. We tested new login system that is provided by Google itself for almost two months, even published Free version week ago, just for sure, but still some weird problems appear and we are with Petr second day try to find any working solution for something, that clearly does not work on Google server, stupid ... so sorry to you, affected by problems with login to Store :(.

To problems (thanks for reports!)

@tapio
time estimates will be improved in next version. Expect better times when using online GraphHopper. In case of BRouter, times will be based on your own movement for certain activity (mainly time spend in navigation with certain routing).

@balloni55
clickable buttons in toasts will be fixed in next version, finally. I had to change this system and use special new component which should allow displaying really clickable buttons on all devices.

@Christian
why you need this confirmation dialog? We removed it as non-standard, useless feature. Does it have any possitive effect on usage of app for You?

New version? Most probably tomorrow ... little risky before the weekend, hope it will be better than this one!
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

8
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.31.+ ( 4. 6. 2018 )
« on: July 04, 2018, 14:12:51 »
Quote
.... please excuse me on 12 days (hike in Albania) ...

I wish you a nice holiday  :)... and a good rest.  ;)
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

9
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.31.+ ( 4. 6. 2018 )
« on: June 07, 2018, 17:46:55 »
Quote
Last wishes before Monday bug-fix version possible :).
My wish:
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/allow-3-26-route-planner-to-recalculate-route-with-different-profile
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

10
Discussion/New features / Inconsistent user interface
« on: April 26, 2018, 12:04:39 »
I think it is time for some consistency in the user interface, particularly with regard to accepting or cancelling settings screens. I illustrate three different screens in particular.

1. Changing info text for a track.

Do I tap the back arrow, or the SAVE text? Answer, no. Hide the keyboard and there's a SAVE button underneath.

2. Choosing available maps.

Does the X on the top right corner cancel? No, it accepts the settings in the check boxes.

3. Accepting terms of use for a map

No, the orange box is not a confirmation button. That's up in the top corner, where it says CONFIRM. And the X means cancel this time.

Oh Menion, let's get this right!
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

11
Switzerland and France are available now too:

http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-france
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-switzerland
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

12
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« on: April 11, 2018, 07:27:21 »
So far, three trials version 3.30.2.8, twice walking in the woods, one bike ride, always about one hour. The GPS records absolutely no problem on the Galaxy A3. I confirm the same dashboard problem as Andrew. If a dashboard is displayed on the screen and I choose a different one, the original one will be displayed. Just press the hide / show dashboard button to turn the tan right. The bug was in the previous beta, I forgot to alert.
The problems Condor points to, unconfirmed, on my phone.

CZ: Zatím tři testy verze 3.30.2.8, dvakrát chůze v lese, jednou jízda na kole, vždy asi jednu hodinu. Záznamy  GPS naprosto bez problémů na Galaxy A3. Potvrzuji stejný problém s dasboardy jako Andrew. Pokud je zobrazen na obrazovce nějaký dashboard a pomocí předvolby zvolím jiný, zůstane zobrazen ten původní. Stačí stisknout tlačítko skrýt/zobrazit dashboard a ukáže se tan správný. Chyba byla i v předchozí BETA, zapomněl jsem upozornit.
Potíže na které poukazuje Condor nepotvrzeny, na mém telefonu.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

13
Discussion/New features / Re: Locus on a bike computer!
« on: March 31, 2018, 08:10:33 »
(sorry for the response delay)

By "locked", I actually just mean that the device comes with nothing that would let you install third party apps: there's no browser or app store preinstalled, and the launcher only has static links.

But thankfully, the device retains developer mode, and sideloading .apks is done the usual way. After installing a custom launcher and basics like a browser, the device functions pretty much like any other Android device.

In addition, there's a bootloader unlock toggle in developer mode, so no exploits are required to root the device (and install play services, etc). I needed to port TWRP to do so, (available here), but that's only a one-time thing.

If you didn't want to root however, you can also install Locus from the Amazon marketplace, which sideloads just fine.

(jajaballard hopefully that's enough info to point you in the right direction--otherwise, the process is standard enough that looking things up on xda will help)
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

14
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« on: March 19, 2018, 05:41:45 »
It has always been like that: When I use the "Favourites" function and call Google Maps (App!) with it and it transfers the map center position:

- Google Maps does center its map to the Locus Center position, but does not add its waypoint (that red balloon symbol). Is there something that can be done on Locus side?

Menion, it is a desire for me to thank you and the people involved super super much many mucho for the most important app on my smartphone :D You are such an important part of the outdoor scene. And still lots of potential customers, I hope. Because in the outdoor world there is so many people having no clue about smartphone navigation, it's weird. If I meet people using their smartphones for this, which is rare, they do it on very basic levels.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

15
Troubles & Questions / Re: Size of the characters scale
« on: March 11, 2018, 22:24:53 »
I'll keep this in mind. In config.cfg is already parameter that affect size of main layout on main map screen. So I for sure will support this parameter to affect new layout ( and probably also track editor, route planner, etc.) as well.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5