Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - menion

Pages: [1] 2
1
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.26.+ ( 11. 10. 2017 )
« on: October 11, 2017, 17:56:23 »
Wow! Congratulations, Menion!
Probably the single most amazing new feature since I started with Locus! The editor is so clean and intuitive - great.
And thx to everyone here discussing the development progress - it really paid off!
The following users thanked this post: menion

2
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.25.+ ( 9. 8. 2017 )
« on: October 05, 2017, 12:38:55 »
hello, my name is shara, i'm italian girl and sorry for my language  ;-)
I have install first time locus for a week
i have nexus 5x and android 8 Oreo
pc windows 8.1
my question's:
1) to know my version where I have to look?

2) one problem is share track, but I saw that it was solved with new version..good
but i have another problem: if I save the track (example in the export folder...), if i connect the nexus of the Pc
in the Locus/export folder I can not find the gpx file...I have to restart nexus, for find the file..
(is the problem locus? or android, nexus, pc..?

3) the version in this post is beta...where then I find the  stable version ?
 and for update version, first best to uninstall actual version? but the folder locus/map are you lost?
(i have several maps GB in this folder..)

thanks shara
Answered in PM in Italian
The following users thanked this post: menion

3
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.25.+ ( 9. 8. 2017 )
« on: October 03, 2017, 11:25:13 »
No problems for me; either way. I only reply to your comment "I see no reason..." with my reason :)

Just a general comment:- Until now I have used the "external BRouter" method of route planning - http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:user_guide:tracks:planning:brouter. I can quickly generate X routes for X profiles, then compare & contrast. But now, finally, the new Route Planner has overtaken this method for convenience. With Shaping points & NOGO areas it just gets better & better.
The following users thanked this post: menion

4
Navigation & Guidance / Re: Offline navigation - BRouter v1.2+
« on: September 24, 2017, 08:51:46 »
Hmm, I do not think it was discussed, aside of the nogo iniciative at Locus side and private discussion of LocusMap and BRouter developers. I do remember Arndt, the BRouter author, once mentioned he was working on the new kinematic routing model.

A big part of changes are rather BRouter internal things. For an end user, the important features are these:

- completely new kinematic routing for cars(car-fast, car-eco)(*). It looks like a big thing. This routing  does not use the costfactor, so It currently bypasses the profile developer effort based on costfactor calculation. The routing is tuned by the parameter of maximal target speed vmax(90 for eco, 160 for fast, probably 130 or 110 for non Germans ).It could be tweaked by changing of max default speed for highways classes to change priorities..  I see I will have to rename my car profiles to avoid confusion. Probably by adding P as Poutnik.

- compatibility with the new LocusMap nogo point interactive management   ( for now in Locus beta)

- 2 minor things for profile developers

(*) seems to me as optional, depending on presence of the kinematic model context line in a profile. So in my understanding, both new kinematic car profiles and my old car profiles should be, after renaming, usable side by side.
The following users thanked this post: menion

5
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.24.+ ( 31. 5. 2017 )
« on: July 31, 2017, 11:50:29 »

6
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.24.+ ( 31. 5. 2017 )
« on: July 07, 2017, 15:43:22 »
let´s try it in your wording,

attached screencast start with restored backup of my  "Geocache" preset
sec 7 - i restore my "Basic Setting" preset
sec 18 - i edit function panel  of "Basic Setting"
sec - 27 i add function "Weather"
sec 30 - "Weather" is added to list
sec 34 - back to map view, "Weather" isn´t visible :-[
sec 42 - back to presets an restore "Basic Setting"  once again
sec 44 - back to map view, "Weather" is visible :)
sec 58 - i remove "Weather"
sec 62 - back to map view, "Weather" is furthermore visible :-[
sec 69 - back to presets an restore "Basic Setting"  once again "Weather" is´nt visible

https://www.dropbox.com/s/s6f9hf862ewtiz7/Preset.mp4?dl=0

please read menions post carefully again:

@balloni55: seems there is still a problem with understanding "presets" :). There really is not anything like "active preset". It is just a bunch of settings that, after click, is set. Imagine it like "backup of settings", that you simply restore by one click, nothing more!

Your observed behaviour is exactly as it is intended. There is no "active preset"!!! This also means, that the changed settings of the preset are not applied until you "run" or "tap" the preset.

Another try for explanation: try to think of a preset as a list of instructions (like a batch file or a computer program) for settings which can be "processed" by tapping on the preset. If you change something in this list, it is not automatically applied but only when you process this list (in Locus: by tapping the preset). Similar to when you change some lines in a batch file and save it, it is not executed automatically.
The following users thanked this post: menion

7
Troubles & Questions / Re: UTM projection is not precise
« on: June 28, 2017, 18:32:24 »
I think Locus is treating UTM-coordinates correct. But for checking with professional conversion software you should provide the coordinates in degree of your points too.

In general a UTM- grid is not exactly "rectangular" compared to the degree-grid of the same region. But it is more or less rotated, meaning the meridian of the UTM-grid are *not* running from geographical North to south. Please take a look at the image:

As you can see the black lines of degree-grid are not parallel but lightly rotated to the colored UTM-grid, especially on the sides of an UTM-zone.

The other point to consider is, that UTM is just a projection of the earth's surface which is nearly a sphere and can't 1:1 projected into a rectangular system. So simplified: 1 meter in UTM grid is just "at average" 1 m in reality, depending in which location within an UTM-zone you are measuring. The differeces are of course very low, but a distance on real earth of 5000 m could be a just distance of for example 4998 m in UTM-grid.

So we can't 1:1 convert UTM-meters in real-world meters. Also each grid system uses another model of Earth with slightly different diameters of their models.
The following users thanked this post: menion

8
Troubles & Questions / Re: Exporting from Locus Pro to Garmin
« on: March 05, 2017, 17:03:00 »
If you are a PM, you can use "geocaching4Locus"
- after installation of GC4L login to geocaching com
- set filter inside GC4L e.g. Tradi and Multi
- pan map to area you are intrested for geocaches
- select "caches arround"
- set count of caches you want to download
- download caches and store them in a separat folder
- open this folder and export all geocaches as .gpx
The following users thanked this post: menion

9
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« on: February 03, 2017, 21:06:53 »
V 3.21.1.7
FC by adding new preset and map switch on restart are solved, thanks ;)
The following users thanked this post: menion

10
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« on: January 01, 2017, 13:23:16 »
I offer my thanks and best wishes to menion and all who work to make LocusMap what it is.  It has given me so much pleasure to use with OpenStreetMap that allows me to continue my love of cartography in a practical way.  Long may it continue.   
The following users thanked this post: menion

11
Troubles & Questions / Re: Elevation gain
« on: November 21, 2016, 18:13:32 »
For global info: http://www.locusmap.eu/everything-you-always-wanted-to-know-about-elevation-in-locus-but-were-afraid-to-ask/

I do not have a pressure sensor so when I found that altitude data of the recorded track with just gps are crazy I tried to solve.

First you need a good accuracy of recorded track points:
settings -> track rec -> choose your profile settings --> requested accuracy set a strict value (for me 30mt)

Second you can have better SRTM values using HGT files with 1" arc insted of 3"
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/hgt-elevation-data-display-if-both-1%E2%80%9D-and-3%E2%80%9D-resolution-hgt-files-are-present-in-the-srtm-directory
http://www.viewfinderpanoramas.org/Coverage%20map%20viewfinderpanoramas_org1.htm
http://www.viewfinderpanoramas.org/dem3.html

and if you want a costant application of srtm data and bypass the "fill data.." after track recorded use this:
in settings -> gps and position -> altitude manager -> settings -> srtm data -> replace gps values

Does this stuff you are telling me apply to me since I have a baro sensor or just to someone who is using a device WITHOUT a baro sensor? I hate to just start changing values i do not understand if it is going to make it worse for my particular phone. With a baro sensor do I still want to bypass the fill data and replace gps track values or is this just what you did because of the device you were using with no baro sensor?

You started this topic with a question about elevation gain, not about pressure sensor settings, after some posts we now know that your device has the pressure sensor.
Before this we also talk about SRTM.
If someone else in future will read this topic will find something usefull about elevation gain becouse the post title is ELEVATION GAIN.

If you wonder if "this stuff" is about pressure sensor, read carefully what I wrote "I do not have a pressure sensor", nothing in my post is about pressure sensor.

And if you "hate to just start changing values i do not understand ..." you can start study how things work, you didn't know to use side panel, you didn't know that "Elevation gain = elevation (uphill)" now you know becouse someone used his time to answer you even if this things are explained in the documentation and in other posts.

Now I can answer your questions:
1) No
2) This is just what I do because my device has no pressure sensor.

P.S.
Strava does not have the truth, no software and no device has the truth.
Put the same track gpx file into 3 different account with different algorithms you'll obtain 3 different altitude gain.
I use Locus on two phones (no baro) and a garmin forerunner and you'll see that the 3 tracks have differences not only about the altitude gain.
I agree with michaelbechtold "Elevation collected from GPS in mobile devices is like rolling the dice around the true curve."
So you need to study wich way is better for you/your device/your habits/place of use.

Regards
The following users thanked this post: menion

12
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.19.x (12. 10. 2016+)
« on: October 31, 2016, 13:49:04 »
New version is available... ->  http://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?action=post;topic=5430
The following users thanked this post: menion

13
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.19.x (12. 10. 2016+)
« on: October 14, 2016, 15:56:12 »
Another place where the data manager screen is described incorrectly. It doesn't deal with local files any more.

The following users thanked this post: menion

14
Maps / Re: How to download elevation data?
« on: September 20, 2016, 00:32:21 »
@michaelbechtold and @joeloc - no need to be quite so cynical and aggressive in some of your posts, we re all ordinary people in this forum, not robots. I don't see need for swear words (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Profanity).
The following users thanked this post: menion

15
Maps / Re: Mapquest access has been discontinued
« on: July 15, 2016, 12:38:44 »
Hello  Simon
terms of use has changed, please read answer from Petr
http://help.locusmap.eu/topic/problem-with-mapquest-as-of-11-july-2016

Wolfgang
The following users thanked this post: menion

Pages: [1] 2